[RESOLVED] Back to it again. RX 580 x2 Video cards. Adapters?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: [RESOLVED] Back to it again. RX 580 x2 Video cards. Adapters?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Back to it again. RX 580 x2 Video cards. Adapters?

    I'm running these cards from a 990fxa ud3 r5. My power supply doesn't have the 8 pin support. I don't run any IDE's so the power supply has 4 available. Are there any adapters I can find or am I better off with a new power supply? This older build was bad enough. The power supply has the juice so that's not going to be a problem. It's 1000w and all rails are coverd well. I think they max at 150w on the heavy draws but I don't have all the specs. These are Asus cards if that helps. I'm done for the most part of jamming money into it but it's a question I had and I knew where to go. The exact cards are DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB.

    Any other things, please ask. All of you have been agreat help lately.

    Thanks guys/ all.

    Ross.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,246

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    I dont have a 6 pin. I only have 4 four pin molex connectors to use.
    Possibly this?

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-034-_-Product

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    I 've got to open the case but I believe the psu has 4 daisy chains of molex connectors. I can use that as long as each molex is running from a different chain, correct?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    I did find the specs so for the most part I was right on power draw.

    180 tops for the wattage draw @150a.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    I think you're going to find you need a new power supply. And according to specs for that card, it needs a 500W power supply just for one card, if you're running two, that's a 1000W for two cards, then you need more for your other components. Not enough power and some components might not work. I've seen this in Dell computers when the power supply wasn't enough to power even the dvd drives.

    If this is the cards you're running:

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814126193
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    Close photolady. Ok if I run single would it be ok. I am avoiding pulling this PC that far apart again. Oh, and we know Dell.

    Here's the exact card.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIA0ZX6KB9705

    The only larger psu I have on hand is a Enermax EMR1500EWT. I just thought that overkill though.
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 7th, 2019 at 01:24 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    That card doesn't give a specs on power supply wattage.

    However, I found this in the questions section about the card on Newegg, when someone asked a question about power supply needed for this card:

    This series of card draws anywhere at max 200-225W.
    Coupled with other parts in your system (depending on your build) you will need a minimum of 550W (you can get away with 500W if you undervolt but beware of potential crashes due to the GPU not being supplied with enough power).
    So you should be okay with your 1000w psu. If you only run one card, but if you run two, the minimum will be over the what you have in your 1000w.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    Advisement taken. See how it all works out tomorrow afternoon. I can garauntee? I'll post back with any problems. I'm going to run the single card on the 1000w psu and see. (Probably will kill the pci lanes on the board anyhow, 2 cards I'm sure would push it).

    64 lanes, 2 pcie vid cards at 16? I'm not quite sure of what else is on there yet, even though I put it together. Teardown tomorrow and out of the case to test.

    Back to scratch I guess.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    Ok...Kind of figured. 32 pci lanes, I still find 180 watts.. Strix version

    I found

    Long day tomorrow.

    strix.png

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    Are both of your motherboard PCI-e slots 16x or is one only 8x, like most are?
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    2 x PCI Express x16 slots, running at x16 (PCIEX16_1, PCIEX16_2)
    * For optimum performance, if only one PCI Express graphics card is to be installed, be sure to install it in the PCIEX16_1 slot; if you are installing two PCI Express graphics cards, it is recommended that you install them in the PCIEX16_1 and PCIEX16_2 slots.
    2 x PCI Express x16 slots, running at x4 (PCIEX4_1, PCIEX4_2)
    2 x PCI Express x1 slots
    (All PCI Express slots conform to the PCI Express 2.0 standard.)
    1 x PCI slot

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    so both slots would be cards. 32 lanes taken.

    I'll somehow figure it out. I talked to jdc about some serious storage but that may have to wait on this one. For the storage anyhow.

    Unless..keep in mind now. 2 cards. 1 Card on 16x and the other on 4x maybe?
    Last edited by Ashalon1; April 8th, 2019 at 12:17 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, Il.
    Posts
    150
    Ok, everything has shown up. (Amazon is sleeping in my bathroom).

    30 mins till we toast or toast something?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,273
    Quote Originally Posted by Ashalon1 View Post
    Ok, everything has shown up. (Amazon is sleeping in my bathroom).

    30 mins till we toast or toast something?
    Sounds good. Yeah, Amazon sleeps in bedroom. I'm a Prime member since 2012.

    Let's hope we don't toast anything too dark.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •