[RESOLVED] Opinions of Win 8 and 8.1 - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 38

Thread: [RESOLVED] Opinions of Win 8 and 8.1

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    wish me luck that I can find specs for that phone

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    It's about 7 years old. I love this phone because it's very thin and light and I can carry it in my pocket. Is G the strength of the signal?

    Found specs page in manual, nothing about G. There is a GSM, but I don't know what it means.
    "GSM 850mhz, 900mhz,1800mhz. 1900mhz"

    Online: https://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=3968

    I have another I haven't used lately, Samsung SGH-A167. It's heavier and thicker and I switched about 7 years ago to the ZTE.
    I don't know the G.
    https://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=1993

    Maybe we should move this is the Phones Forum.
    Last edited by foxy; March 30th, 2019 at 01:11 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,265
    My ZTE is 4G and is very thin and fits in my pocket.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    I never would have guessed you're a flip-phone user. I figured you had cutting edge technology in everything.
    how do I know how many G's mine has?

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    I never would have guessed you're a flip-phone user. I figured you had cutting edge technology in everything.
    how do I know how many G's mine has?

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    Got it from Comp. Encyc.
    It's 3G, my older one is 2G
    3GA.GIF

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,265
    Oh, no, my ZTE isn't a flip phone, it's a smartphone, flat and 3" wide, 6" tall. But it fits my back pocket of my Levi's 501s just fine.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,218
    Here are some links to the upcoming phone that I am looking forward to seeing the actual specs for:

    https://www.techradar.com/news/motor...we-want-to-see

    https://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile...artphone-news/

    Motorola Razr 2019

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    $1500? You can get 4 computers on sale for that. Or 10 refurbs. ;-) But plenty of sheeple will gladly buy it.

    How will I know when my 3G cell phone goes obsolete? I hope there will be a notice here in the Phone Forum.
    Last edited by foxy; April 1st, 2019 at 07:40 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,265
    Shoot for that price, it would pay half my off on my Jeep. Sheesh, jdc, thanks but no thanks. I'll keep this $299 phone I have now.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    I'll keep my $12 one until 3G goes out. Maybe there's another for $14 out there.

    Photolady--did you resolve the CD problem in your car?

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,218
    Yes, it is pricey, but then I keep phones for 12 years or more. I only replace them when the networks no longer support them.

    Most 3G service should end starting January 2020.

    A more affordable alternative, 4G but no 5G:

    https://www.verizonwireless.com/basi...sku=sku2450262

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,265
    Quote Originally Posted by foxy View Post
    Photolady--did you resolve the CD problem in your car?
    Not yet and now it won't even play commercial cds. I think it needs cleaning or a firmware update. I insert a commercial cd and the screen display says "writ" on it. I might just yank that one out and have it replaced with a newer model at some time in the future.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,113
    jdc2000--

    This is confusing. AT&T supposedly has 4G and 5G already, but my 3G phone is still working fine.
    https://arstechnica.com/information-...g-study-finds/

    Vz started shutting down 3G in 2014, but my friend's 3G phone is working fine.
    https://www.geek.com/mobile/verizon-...twork-1610986/
    These are both flip-phones, so data speed isn't an issue.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,218
    There is 5G in some areas already, including parts of your area (although there is only 1 5G phone that you can actually get right now), however it will be many years before 5G covers most areas. 4G is in most, but not all areas and will be for many years to come. 3G and 2G is still in some areas also, but those transceivers are scheduled to be deactivated at the end of 2019 for most, if not all areas. Some of those areas will get 4G or maybe 5G before the shutdown, others MAY (but don't count on it) have the 2G or 3G service still active, and some areas will lose service for an undetermined period of time.

    In the areas I travel through in the western U.S., some areas have already lost Verizon service, because Verizon was leasing space on competitors' cell towers, and they decide to end that practice.

    It will depend on what area you live in or travel to with regards to what service will be available.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •