[RESOLVED] Setting up a new installation
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [RESOLVED] Setting up a new installation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,016

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Setting up a new installation

    This relates back to a problem I had a few months ago. Win7 was screwed up in the Gateway (see my sig,) and I finally decided to do a fresh reinstall, keeping the data partition as is. But waiting 2 months has left me without some of your tips.

    Here's what I have:

    HP (this one)
    --C Programs and System
    --D Data

    Gateway
    --C fresh install of Win 7, Classic Shell, Programs will follow
    --D Data (both data drives are identical)

    Because I had problems networking the previous installation, is it wiser to use the same UserID on both machines?
    Any other caveats before I do settings?
    Wasn't there something about calling it a Work Network even though it's a Home network?

    (Don't mention the EOL. I'm not moving to 10)
    Last edited by foxy; March 2nd, 2019 at 01:50 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/
    Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,802
    Because I had problems networking the previous installation, is it wiser to use the same UserID on both machines?
    If you want to use password protected sharing, then yes, you would want the same username and password on both systems.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...dows-7-and-xp/

    Wasn't there something about calling it a Work Network even though it's a Home network?
    You want to use the same WORKGROUP name.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,016
    Thanks, MidKnyte. There's no XP machine involved here.

    I'm using these tutes:
    https://www.howtogeek.com/school/win...aring/lesson9/
    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...ith-homegroup/

    "You want to use the same WORKGROUP name."

    Not that; I know that. There was some reason for calling it a Work Network rather than Home Network, but I don't remember what it was. I have to go back through my notes if you don't remember.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/
    Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,044
    Possibly useful link:

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...3-6f45f3c750d5

    There is only one difference between the home and work network profiles which comes up when you connect for the 1st time.




    A home network profile allows you to set up or join a HomeGroup, on a work profile you can't. Therefore what it actually means by using the term "business" is wrong and the security differences are limited.




    One of the limitations of a workgroup is accessing a share requires the credentials of all users to be set up on the host pc, setting up a HomeGroup automatically creates a common user between computers which could be considered a weak security setting..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,016
    Many thanks. :-) Sounds like why I screwed it up the first time around.
    Last edited by foxy; March 2nd, 2019 at 09:56 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/
    Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,802
    Thanks, MidKnyte. There's no XP machine involved here.
    I thought we went over this in the last time. It doesn't matter that it's not XP. You will want to use the same steps.

    The network "location" type is a completely separate thing. Also Homegroups are completely different from Workgroups. Pretty sure I went over this in the other network thread.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,016
    OK, I just found my notes. Thanks.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/
    Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,016
    Networking went smoothly using a work group. :-)

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/
    Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (1 members and 2 guests)

  1. Midknyte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •