[RESOLVED] "Another computer is using the printer."
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] "Another computer is using the printer."

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    683

    Resolved [RESOLVED] "Another computer is using the printer."

    I think this probably has to do with a network issue. Have a desktop running Win 7, laptop running Win 10, and a Canon MX-490 wireless printer. Everything has been working flawlessly, and have been printing over the wireless network from both computers for quite some time.

    Now when we attempt to print the box pops up and says "Another computer is using the printer." No such thing is happening, of course, but the printer will not print. Turn the printer off and back on and not only can the Win 10 laptop print, but the earlier failed print job from the Win 7 desktop then prints. After that, another attempt to print from the Win 7 desktop gets the "Another computer is using the printer" message again. Turning the computer off and back on does nothing.

    The only change in the network or to anything in the system was the addition of a Sony smart television to the wireless network. Probably a dumb question, is the television trying to use the printer?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    Sounds like the printer is failing to close out the print job properly.

    To test, turn off the TV and printer and shut down the computers. Power up the printer and ONE computer, print a test page, then try printing a second test page. If that works, shut down that computer and power up the other one. Repeat the two test page prints. Post back results.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    683
    Does turning off the television disconnect it from the network, or is it staying connected at reduced power while turned off? When I turn it on there does not seem to be any process of connecting to the wifi, it just comes on instantly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    Powering the TV off SHOULD disconnect it from the network, but to be sure, you could unplug it. You should not lose any saved settings.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,949
    You could just look at your router settings while the TV is off. You should be able to see all devices that are connected to the router at that time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    683
    You take your car to the mechanic because it's making a funny noise. So you talk to him, walk together to where your car is parked and you start your car. The mechanic says, "What funny noise?" And you say, "Well it isn't doing it now." Of course.

    So desktop on, laptop off, both documents print.
    Desktop off, laptop on, both documents print.
    Both computers on, documents print from both computers.
    Any amount of bad language does not seem to affect it.

    Marking thread [Resolved] because there is no [Magic] tag. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,356
    Thanks for the update. At least it is working again.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •