[RESOLVED] suspicious
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: [RESOLVED] suspicious

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120

    Resolved [RESOLVED] suspicious

    Hope I can get help. Two computers, peer to peer, host and client, running win 7. Working fine until Jan 10, when the client began to get error messages that it could not connect to the host. Did a ton of fixes. Nothing worked. Client said it could see the Host, but when checked, the Host was not seeing the client. From indications originally thought problem was on Client machine, since the errors appear there. The Host was able to continue using a mutually shared software package. Did a restore to date prior to Jan 10th, and all seemed to be working. A mutually shared software package is on the Host machine, and is critical to the operation. User on
    Client could go about her work, and too the user on the Host continued to work without difficulty. Both shutdown for the day, then attempted to reopen this date. Same problem appeared, connection was broken. Router, cable, internet connect, and other approaches were done. Did not though do a virus check on either machine, and plan to do so Monday. Mfg of the software package is no longer in business, and would like to avoid a reinstall of win7

    error message: "An error occurred while reconnecting P: to \\computer-PC\ProMed Microsoft windows Network

    "Could not connect all network drives" "The handler is invalid. The connection has not been restored." I hope we can find the problem so it won't be necessary to restore the Host computer each time the problem occurs. Ran out of ideas. Thanks for the assist. Jim S."
    Last edited by Jim1; January 25th, 2019 at 09:52 PM. Reason: correct error message
    Jim S.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    somewhere on the planet earth.
    Posts
    1,624
    What happens when you try pinging? Do you get reply ? Also have you tried mapping the drive of the other computer? is windows able to see it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,438
    That sounds like it could be a Microsoft update glitch. Check the installed updates for any that were installed recently. A malware scan would also be a good idea.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1 View Post
    Hope I can get help. Two computers, peer to peer, host and client, running win 7. Working fine until Jan 10, when the client began to get error messages that it could not connect to the host. Did a ton of fixes. Nothing worked. Client said it could see the Host, but when checked, the Host was not seeing the client. From indications originally thought problem was on Client machine, since the errors appear there. The Host was able to continue using a mutually shared software package. Did a restore to date prior to Jan 10th, and all seemed to be working. A mutually shared software package is on the Host machine, and is critical to the operation. User on
    Client could go about her work, and too the user on the Host continued to work without difficulty. Both shutdown for the day, then attempted to reopen this date. Same problem appeared, connection was broken. Router, cable, internet connect, and other approaches were done. Did not though do a virus check on either machine, and plan to do so Monday. Mfg of the software package is no longer in business, and would like to avoid a reinstall of win7

    error message: "An error occurred while reconnecting P: to \\computer-PC\ProMed Microsoft windows Network

    "Could not connect all network drives" "The handler is invalid. The connection has not been restored." I hope we can find the problem so it won't be necessary to restore the Host computer each time the problem occurs. Ran out of ideas. Thanks for the assist. Jim S."
    When there is no problem (S), pinging work and sees all. After reboot, the problem reoccurs, and the Client is no longer visible, and there is no apparent connection engaged. Will check the updates on Monday. Did notice the system accepted updates, but figure that might because of using a restore point. Through all of this the Host continues to work without an apparent problem.
    Jim S.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by ylen13 View Post
    What happens when you try pinging? Do you get reply ? Also have you tried mapping the drive of the other computer? is windows able to see it?
    When the problem reoccurs, pinging from the client sees the Host, but the Host does not see the Client. Odd!, leading me to believe the problem is with the Host, in spite of the fact the error messages appear on the Client's screen.
    Jim S.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    somewhere on the planet earth.
    Posts
    1,624
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1 View Post
    When the problem reoccurs, pinging from the client sees the Host, but the Host does not see the Client. Odd!, leading me to believe the problem is with the Host, in spite of the fact the error messages appear on the Client's screen.
    Check the firewall rules on both computer or temporary turn off firewall completely to eliminate it as an issue.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,438
    When the problem occurs, can the Host see (ping) any other network devices? Does the Host still have Internet access?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    When the problem occurs, can the Host see (ping) any other network devices? Does the Host still have Internet access?
    No internet interruption when the problem occurs. Everything appears to be operating within the norm, except for the problem created as already described.
    Jim S.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,438
    How are the 2 computers connected? Wired or wireless? Through a switch or router?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1 View Post
    No internet interruption when the problem occurs. Everything appears to be operating within the norm, except for the problem created as already described.
    Peer to peer via Cat. 5 cable via router. Again, when I pick a restore point, reboot the systems, all works fine. When the systems are rebooted a second time, the error occurs, making the Client invisible to the Host, though the Client can see the HOST. Damn! A toughie. Through it all, the Host, with the proprietary software package works just fine, and can be used as normal. The Client can be used for work, internet connect, but cannot get access to the Host. Thanks, Jim
    Last edited by Jim1; January 27th, 2019 at 09:36 PM. Reason: made a correction
    Jim S.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,438
    A reboot without a system restore does not fix the issue?

    Did you scan with Malwarebytes?

    If a System Restore and reboot fixes the issue, something is being reinstalled or reactivated that is causing the problem. You need to find out what that is.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,974
    Check your network settings on both computers again.
    Start - Settings - Control Panel > Click Network and Sharing Center
    Click Change advanced sharing settings
    Check the following settings:
    Turn ON network discovery
    Turn ON file and printer sharing
    Turn ON sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the Public folders (optional)
    Turn OFF password protected sharing

    Click Save changes

    Make sure Network Discovery stays ON. That's what allows the computer to see and be seen on the network.

    Did you check Event Viewer for errors? If there are any errors with network services, that could be the problem.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120

    You're right

    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    A reboot without a system restore does not fix the issue?

    Did you scan with Malwarebytes?

    If a System Restore and reboot fixes the issue, something is being reinstalled or reactivated that is causing the problem. You need to find out what that is.
    You're right. I think that's what's happening, but the question remains: How to go about finding out what's going on, and why does the glitch reactivate when the system is rebooted? Calls to the seller of the software have been non-productive. No return phone calls. None! Could it be that someone on the outside has access to the computer and is creating the problem remotely? Worse case scene: Can the computer be recovered without simultaneously losing the important program? Would be nice, if like XP a slipstream could be performed, without having to go through a complete reinstall. The party was not given a copy of the software package when it was first installed, and it is update remotely via Team View. Not the best of ideas, but, it works. Jim S.
    Jim S.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,438
    Could it be that someone on the outside has access to the computer and is creating the problem remotely?
    Possible, although unlikely. You haven't said if you scanned with Malwarebytes and your installed antivirus solution for the presence of any malware.

    How are Microsoft updates applied to this computer? Is it on a corporate network using WSUS to push out updates? Check on this and supply us with an answer; we will need the information if you want a permanent fix.

    Possibly useful link:

    https://superuser.com/questions/1396...alid-4672-4634

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Parkville, Md., USA
    Posts
    1,120

    updates auto installed

    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    Possible, although unlikely. You haven't said if you scanned with Malwarebytes and your installed antivirus solution for the presence of any malware.

    How are Microsoft updates applied to this computer? Is it on a corporate network using WSUS to push out updates? Check on this and supply us with an answer; we will need the information if you want a permanent fix.

    Possibly useful link:

    https://superuser.com/questions/1396...alid-4672-4634
    Small office, three computers. One does not have access to the software package, and used by doctor for his own browsing, etc. Host and Client do the work on a peer to peer network via cat 5 via small router with access to the internet and to each other. The Host and Client were working, and did so when rebooted a few days ago. Then, on second reboot, the problem apparently occurred again. Did visit, and problem returned. Did Defender scan on both computers and both came up clean. Did cleanup of both computers, and problem still existed, though the icon on the Client reappeared as if nothing was wrong. When in error state the icon was not the same I appearance, though when clicked on got the job done. So, maybe there has been some improvement. Will revisit tomorrow, weather permitting, (sub weather is forecast) so many of the elderly patients might not show up. We'll have to see. Thanks, Jim S.
    Jim S.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •