Garmin Express
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Garmin Express

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066

    Garmin Express

    Win7SP1
    .NET Framework 4.7.2

    I have a freestanding GPS by Garmin. There's an update and additional maps called GarminExpress.exe. It's supposed to install on your computer, then upload to the USB of the GPS.

    If I run one that's a few weeks old I get this error:
    Attachment 14867

    If I run a slightly newer one, I get this:
    Attachment 14869

    Neither will install. I chatted with a techie at Garmin, but she was worse than clueless.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,112

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    Thanks, but those either don't work or are irrelevant. The link for older versions is dead.
    I've already tried the sites cited here that still work
    https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/10-web...ions-software/

    I DID try to run AS ADMIN.

    I think it's a Windows Installer problem, but I just did a Repair Install last week. In my 2nd error, the most recent, the setup isn't seeing my .NET Framework. Are there newer versions of Windows Installer? Maybe it's because I can't install the latest rollup (?)
    Last edited by foxy; October 28th, 2018 at 06:55 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    I D/L 6 older versions from here,
    https://garmin-express.en.uptodown.com/windows/old
    but they all give me the 2902 error.
    Last edited by foxy; October 28th, 2018 at 07:09 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,112

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    Did all of them, but no results. I have no problem installing anything else.
    My Installer is v. 5.0.7601.24195, and testing appears to show it's healthy.

    I'm also going nuts over the superbug at this site. Let me know if light bulb suddenly turns on in your head.
    Last edited by foxy; October 29th, 2018 at 04:31 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,112
    It may be time to try another call to Garmin. Maybe this time you will get a tech support person that has a clue. Ask to be escalated to a second level tech.

    For the VDr site issue, if you are referring to the login issue, check the box to stay logged in. The reason for the issue has been identified, the actual cause is under investigation.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    I checked the box to stay logged in, didn't work.
    Will go back to Garmin. Thanks.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,112
    If checking the box to stay logged in did not work, you may have some software or setting that is deleting your cookies.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    Not at all. I have this site white-listed with a permanent cookie. I still have to login each time with my PW manager.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    16,112
    If you have to log in each time, something is messing with the cookies. I have no issues when I check the box to stay logged in. Try a different browser as a test.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    5
    I'm back, at least temporarily. I'm in the process of clean-installing another Win7 machine, and I'm planning to make that my main computer. Should solve the issues I still have with this one despite recent repair install.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    Could you translate "MFC headers and libraries" for me? And I already installed it from my 2nd computer.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,222
    Another you shouldn't have responded to Foxy, he's a spammer and no longer with us.
    New 8 core
    AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Gskill 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 1TB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2018!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    2,066
    Duh. I had no way of knowing that. What was he advertising?
    Last edited by foxy; December 21st, 2018 at 11:26 PM.

    HP / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011 / CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7Ult. 64/ 6 GB RAM/ Firefox/TB/Chrome/Opera /Avast/Win Firewall

    GatewayATI Radeon/HD 500GB/AMD Phenom 8400 Triple core/ Win 7 Ult/ similar programs
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •