Having a problem, computer is slower then dial up ever was.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Having a problem, computer is slower then dial up ever was.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,015

    Angry Having a problem, computer is slower then dial up ever was.

    I typed this once and then the entire page disappeared so I hope it stays this time.


    I have HP Windows 10 and this computer is about a year old.

    A couple weeks ago it began giving me problems when I would go to open it up. At times it took forever and at other times I have to shut it and began all over.

    When I finally get a home page and try to browse to a new page it takes FOREVER to pull up and I do mean forever.

    I have ran my antivirus program 3 times and Malwarebytes 3 times as well and come up perfectly clean.

    I have completely rebooted the equipment and even contacted Spectrum (Charter) my service who rebooted it from their end and cannot find an issue.

    Can someone help me before I throw this computer out the door into the rain? I am so frustrated! I have the highest speed available and it acts as like very very slow dial up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    21,424
    Is it wired or wireless?

    Unplug the modem for five minutes to see if that helps.
    "They say "don't try this at home" so I'm coming over to your house to try it."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,696
    What browser are you using? Did you run a test at Speedtest.net?
    http://www.speedtest.net/

    Another thing to check on Win10 is the 100% Disk use issue. That makes everything feel slow.
    https://www.partitionwizard.com/part...indows-10.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,015
    Yes Steve I do know to do that and was 1st thing I did.

    100% disk use.

    On speed test which I don't know how to read I have 19 on Ping, 48.53 download, and 8.45 on upload. This does not mean anything to me since I don't understand it.


    I do know I have Spectrums fastest at 100.


    Can you explain this to me?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,696
    100% disk use.
    Are you confirming that you have 100% disk use? If so, do the fix on the link I posted.

    19 on Ping, 48.53 download, and 8.45 on upload
    100 is the max, so you're just under half of that. Upload is usually about 10% the speed of the download on Spectrum. That's normal. At peak times, you'd expect less speed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,015
    I will try to get back to you on the 100% disk issue later, I have company now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,015
    Says disk is 21 now but still having some slow issues.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,015
    Is anyone going to come back on this? After I followed your instructions the disk space went down to 21 % but now it is 100% again. I still need help. It is still back to as slow as it was to begin with. HELP

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,696
    I didn't say disk space. I said disk USE. Which fix did you do? Did you edit the registry?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •