image file?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: image file?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,594

    image file?

    What's the best (simplest, most reliable) way to make a system backup?

    I tried Backupper but when I wanted to Restore it said: Image file doesn't exist.
    When I found the image file myself, it said: You should have backed first (when I thought the image was a backup)
    After that it said: You should be running (something) from flash drive.

    It just got too stupid. It informed me of all the things I should have done afterwards! It also took 3 hrs to image a disk and then told me there wasn't enough space.

    I don't want anything that requires that a Restore is done by the same version as the one that created the image. I might have upgraded since then.

    Is there something foolproof, I'm a pretty good fool!

    Thanks - rev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,673
    3 hours is way too long. I only image the OS and Apps, NOT data. I have separate backups for data.

    After that it said: You should be running (something) from flash drive.
    I'm guessing they mean a bootable flash drive. That's pretty standard for any recovery software you'd use.
    I.E. You don't boot from the drive you are restoring.

    This guide is a little old, but it goes over the basic ideas. You'd need to look up instructions for whatever app you choose.
    https://www.raymond.cc/blog/how-to-c...-norton-ghost/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,594
    >I'm guessing they mean a bootable flash drive.
    I'm guessing that too but I would like to have known that in advance. Thank god (if I wasn't a devout atheist) for system restore.

    I'll check your link. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,819
    I generally use Acronis for my imaging, and I also don't install it. I always run it from the CD. If you are backing up the OS disk, and it has lots of data on it, it can easily take hours, which is why I run it after I am done using the system for the day.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,594
    That sounds like a plan. I'll have to read up because I don't have a clue what I'm doing. When you run it at the end of the day, is it updating the changes only or creating a whole new image?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,819
    I only create new images, and then only when the OS or software has been updated. For data files, I use a separate backup that only backs up changes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,594
    That's what I'm going to do - even if I have to RTFM!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •