Task Scheduler not running bat files - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Task Scheduler not running bat files

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Allen, TX, US
    Posts
    358
    Thank you everyone! I had had this on my to-do list and finally tackling it again.

    I can't believe how fast this was resolved!! I completely took out the wscript and put the bat file line in Program/script section, left the Add arguments section blank and ut in the batch directory on the Start in section....and badaboom! I thought for sure that I had needed the wscript before...but I guess not.

    I'll find out in the morning if all the the jobs ran ok. I ran them using the Run command from the Task Scheduler.

    Thanks!

    KZ

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Allen, TX, US
    Posts
    358
    Thank you everyone! I had had this on my to-do list and finally tackling it again.

    I can't believe how fast this was resolved!! I completely took out the wscript and put the bat file line in Program/script section, left the Add arguments section blank and ut in the batch directory on the Start in section....and badaboom! I thought for sure that I had needed the wscript before...but I guess not.

    I'll find out in the morning if all the the jobs ran ok. I ran them using the Run command from the Task Scheduler.

    Thanks!

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,697
    Ah, good catch jdc2000. He had mentioned wscript in the original post, so I thought it was required. I hope it works now.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Allen, TX, US
    Posts
    358
    Looks like everything is running automatically as it should.

    The only question was related to the bat files running in their window minimized instead of popping up on top of my other work. I have created a shortcut to the bat files and chose in the properties to Run minimized for that shortcut, but I'm not sure how to choose that shortcut file (instead of the bat file) to run from the Task Scheduler.

    KZ

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,897

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Allen, TX, US
    Posts
    358
    The Computerhope site mentions that if I'm using the Task Scheduler to enter the below command....but I'm not sure where to put that. Can you help on that?

    cmd.exe /c start /min myfile.bat ^& exit

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,897
    You just put that into Task Scheduler where you would put the name of the program to run.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Allen, TX, US
    Posts
    358
    Thanks for checking back in about this question!
    Right now in the "Program/script:" section I have "C:\blahblahblah\copy.bat"

    Are you saying to put this?
    cmd.exe /c start /min myfile.bat ^& exit "C:\blahblahblah\copy.bat"
    I tried that and it said "Windows cannot find 'myfile.bat'.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,697
    myfile.bat is the path/name of the bat file.

    cmd.exe /c start /min "C:\blahblahblah\copy.bat" ^& exit

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •