Issues with Ethernet
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Issues with Ethernet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1998
    Location
    Lone Star State Texas
    Posts
    1,516

    Issues with Ethernet

    I been having continues issues everytime I turn on my computer system with the Ethernet not able to connect to the internet. I have to always run a troubleshoot and have windows diagnosed and reset the ethernet. Here's the read out of the problem.


    PrintWindows Network Diagnostics Publisher details

    Issues found
    "Ethernet" doesn't have a valid IP configuration"Ethernet" doesn't have a valid IP configuration Fixed Fixed
    Reset the "Ethernet" adapter Completed
    Investigate router or broadband modem issues Not run


    Issues found Detection details

    6 "Ethernet" doesn't have a valid IP configuration Fixed Fixed


    Reset the "Ethernet" adapter Completed

    This can sometimes resolve an intermittent problem.
    InformationalNetwork Diagnostics Log
    File Name: E588866E-B24C-43EA-8C6E-E7E9148F0FDA.Repair.1.etl


    Investigate router or broadband modem issues Not run

    If you're connected to a hotspot or domain network, contact the network administrator. Otherwise: 1. Unplug or turn off the device. 2. After all the lights on the device are off, wait at least 10 seconds. 3. Turn the device on or plug it back into the power outlet. To restart a router or modem that has a built-in battery, press and quickly release the Reset button.


    Detection details Expand

    InformationalDiagnostics Information (Network Adapter)
    Details about network adapter diagnosis:

    Network adapter Ethernet driver information:

    Description . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Manufacturer . . . . . . . . . : Realtek
    Provider . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft
    Version . . . . . . . . . . . : 9.1.406.2015
    Inf File Name . . . . . . . . . : C:\WINDOWS\INF\rt640x64.inf
    Inf File Date . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 29, 2017 1:41:03 PM
    Section Name . . . . . . . . . : RTL8168FB.ndi
    Hardware ID . . . . . . . . . . : pci\ven_10ec&dev_8168&rev_09
    Instance Status Flags . . . . . : 0x180200a
    Device Manager Status Code . . : 0
    IfType . . . . . . . . . . . . : 6
    Physical Media Type . . . . . . : 14



    InformationalNetwork Diagnostics Log
    File Name: E588866E-B24C-43EA-8C6E-E7E9148F0FDA.Diagnose.0.etl

    InformationalOther Networking Configuration and Logs
    File Name: NetworkConfiguration.cab

    Collection information
    Computer Name: KENNYSPC
    Windows Version: 10.0
    Architecture: x64
    Time: Monday, March 26, 2018 11:59:11 AM

    Publisher details Expand

    Windows Network Diagnostics
    Detects problems with network connectivity.
    Package Version: 4.0
    Publisher: Microsoft Windows

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,909
    That sounds like the computer is not being assigned an IP address from whatever device you have set up as the DHCP server. You could avoid this by simply assigning a static IP address and DNS Servers for the computer.

    I assume that it does get fixed. Once it is working, an "ipconfig /all" command will show what IP address and DNS Servers are assigned, and you could make those static.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1998
    Location
    Lone Star State Texas
    Posts
    1,516
    I saw this in the report "Investigate router or broadband modem issues Not run"

    Could this be caused by my ISP? Do I need to contact them and tell them about this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,909
    If the computer is not getting an IP address assigned to it, that is a local issue of some sort.

    Have you tried shutting down and powering off the computer, then powering off the ISP's modem/router and any of your network devices, then powering them back up, starting with the ISP's modem router, with the computer last?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1998
    Location
    Lone Star State Texas
    Posts
    1,516
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    If the computer is not getting an IP address assigned to it, that is a local issue of some sort.

    Have you tried shutting down and powering off the computer, then powering off the ISP's modem/router and any of your network devices, then powering them back up, starting with the ISP's modem router, with the computer last?
    I have before power cycle the router and the computer before, but this problem returns. Not all the time, just every so often this happens.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,909
    If you do not have your router and other network components on a UPS, you should. That will greatly reduce issues like this. Even a minor power surge or glitch can play havoc with a router.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •