Upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086

    Upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10

    I have my eldest brother's computer here, one I rebuilt for him. In attempting just now to install Windows 10, I came up with information I couldn't answer, i.e., his email. He doesn't have an email address yet, he's also never used a computer but wants to learn. He's 74 years old. So, I'm trying to make this as easy as I can for him. I'm installing Windows 7 on it right now but what I need to know is if I do an upgrade to Windows 10, will I still have to provide an email address?
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,723
    will I still have to provide an email address?
    No. You can install Win10 with a local account. It's not much different from Win8/8.1
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/instal...-local-account

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,921

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    Thanks guys. Since his Windows 7 is 32 bit, would I need the same for Windows 10?
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,723
    Since his Windows 7 is 32 bit, would I need the same for Windows 10?
    Yep. You can't upgrade from a 32-bit to 64-bit. It would have to be a clean install.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,921
    You should be able to do that, however, a clean install is required, which means re-installing all application programs and settings.

    How much memory does his system have? If it only has 4 GB or less, then a 32 bit Windows 10 would be OK.

    Links:

    https://social.technet.microsoft.com...10itprogeneral

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...f-aeab312caf74

    https://www.windowscentral.com/how-u...ion-windows-10

    https://www.infopackets.com/news/964...dows-10-64-bit

    https://www.easeus.com/todo-backup-r...sing-data.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    The only thing installed at this point is the motherboard drivers and Nvidia driver for the stand alone Geforce 210 500GB card. I don't really have any programs to give him. I was going to setup Libreoffice for him to use as a word processor. But other than that, there isn't anything I know that he wants.

    Now that I know for sure how to get past the Microsoft account thing, I'll do a clean install like I started to do. But I have to check to see if motherboard has drivers for Windows 10.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,921
    What motherboard does that system have?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,776
    was going to mention too,, perhaps he could create a Microsoft __@outlook.com account This way if his PC every gets a revamp and use the outlook account it has in its cloud base the settings you are just now setting up for him.. also can be use as an email account .. or just create a new gmail account too..
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    I appreciate you trying to help Todd but my brother has never had an email address, he has never used a computer before and I want to make this easiest as I can for him.

    I'll install as Midknyte and jdc suggests without using an email.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    Success. Window 10 64 bit installed. Installing Firefox now. Will install drivers next.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    It was until I went to activate it. Now it says it can't activate it without a key. So, what's the sense in being able to install without a key, if after installing you need a key to activate it?
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,921
    Did you try the Windows 7 key?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    Yes, I did and it said it couldn't activate under that key.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,086
    I'm going to go back and just put his Windows 7 on it. Though it's only 32bit I think what he does on his computer that 3.25gbs of ram will be enough.

    I talked to him this morning and he said he didn't want Windows 10 on there. So that fixes that problem.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •