Firewall in windows 10
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Firewall in windows 10

  1. #1
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517

    Firewall in windows 10

    I have a Dell XPS laptop with windows 10 pro. After I booted my computer and opened firefox, there was a message just under the address bar that said that my computer is exposed - action needed. I ran my Avast AV and Malwarebytes and both did not detect anything at all. I attached 2 screenshots of the message.

    Also, why don't I have a control panel listing when I click the windows key + "X" key?

    Also, why do I have a windows defender firewall listing and not just windows firewall listing listing in security and maintenance?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,594
    That's a Mcafee toolbar. Do you actually use Mcafee or not? If not, uninstall the toolbar.

    Also, why don't I have a control panel listing when I click the windows key + "X" key?
    I'm assuming you mean the quick access menu. From what I can tell, Control Panel was removed in build 1703. What build of Win10 are you running?

    Also, why do I have a windows defender firewall listing and not just windows firewall listing listing in security and maintenance?
    I don't have separate builds of Win10, but I'm guessing they just changed the names around. That's why it's important that you tell us exactly which build you are using.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,594
    As I mentioned, Control Panel was removed from Win+X, but you can add it back.
    https://betanews.com/2016/10/10/rest...control-panel/

    As far as I can tell, the Windows Defender Firewall looks the same as the old Windows Firewall in the Control Panel.

  4. #4
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    Miknyte, I appreciate the help. There wasn't/insn't a McAfee toolbar in my browser. That was the first time I saw that McAfee WebAdvisor message appear under the address bar. I am not sure what it meant when it said my computer is exposed. I guess I should assume my computer is fine since Avast AV and Malwarebytes didn't detect anything when I ran them? I do have McAfee LiveSafe and McAfee WebAdvisor that was pre-installed on my laptop, though.

    My windows 10 version is 1709 so I guess that explains the change in control panel, as you stated.

    I am confused between windows defender firewall and windows firewall. I am not sure what you meant by "As far as I can tell, the Windows Defender Firewall looks the same as the old Windows Firewall in the Control Panel." Was the windows firewall replaced with windows defender firewall with builds 1703 and later? When I go to control panel/system and security/security and maintenance and under security/network firewall, it says McAfee firewall is currently turned on. When I click on the hyperlink "view installed firewall apps" directly underneath that "McAfee firewall is currently turned on", a popup window appears that says that the McAfee firewall is on and windows firewall is off. The McAfee firewall is part of the pre-installed McAfee LiveSafe. The trial version of LiveSafe has expired but, I can still turn McAfee firewall on or off within that program. I assume if I uninstall LiveSafe, I will be able to turn the windows firewall on. What would be my best option? Should I uninstall LiveSafe since the trial version has expired or just leave it and continuing using McAfee firewall?

    Pertaining to the windows defender firewall, it says that those settings are being managed by McAfee Personal Firewall. I attached a screenshot showing that info.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,594
    I do have McAfee LiveSafe and McAfee WebAdvisor that was pre-installed on my laptop, though.
    That must have installed an add-on in Firefox.

    Was the windows firewall replaced with windows defender firewall with builds 1703 and later?
    YES. It's the same thing, just renamed.
    https://windowsreport.com/windows-de...eators-update/
    Microsoft will ‘retire’ the famous Windows Firewall, and change its name to Windows Defender Firewall in the Fall Creators Update.
    I assume if I uninstall LiveSafe, I will be able to turn the windows firewall on. What would be my best option? Should I uninstall LiveSafe since the trial version has expired or just leave it and continuing using McAfee firewall?
    I would uninstall Mcafee. You are already using Avast anyway. The Windows Firewall should be re-enabled after that. If not, just enable it.

  6. #6
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    I use Revo Uninstaller. I use the moderate scanning mode. After it scanned to uninstall the McAfee LiveSafe program, it found a very, very long list of files and folders to check for removal. I can't believe how long the list was. I have used Revo Uninstaller for a while and always used the moderate scanning mode, but I never have seen as long of a list of files and folders for removal in any other program that I have uninstalled in the past like it found associated with McAfee LiveSafe. I assume that I can check all the entries/keys it found that are in bold for removal, correct?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,594
    Yup. I'd get rid of all the Mcafee stuff

  8. #8
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    Midknyte, my laptop has 2 pre-installed McAfee programs (LiveSafe and WebAdvisor) that I will remove. Like I said, I can't believe the huge list of files and folders that Revo found pertaining to LiveSafe. It is insane. I just want to make sure that I won't have any issues if I remove all bold items Revo found. I attached a few screenshots of just a tiny number of files it found. I never was hesitant in the past when using Revo, but I can't believe how many files the McAfee program loaded on my laptop. I never installed a program that had this many files. I guess I just need reassurance again before I remove them.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    One other question. Like I said, I always used the moderate scanning mode in the past when I used Revo. I never used the advanced. Is it best to use the advanced mode?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,594
    Moderate scanning mode is fine.

    Those registry all look like they can go. You're looking at a lot of subregistry components. The last few pages didn't even have checked boxes, so I'm not sure what you're asking. If you're worried, you could make a backup of your registry first.

    BTW, I use Geek Uninstaller, not Revo. Just FYI.
    https://geekuninstaller.com/

  11. #11
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    I didn't click on all the files/folder when I took those screenshots. There are a ton for me to click. I just took a very small sample of screehshots just to show some of the many files it is asking to remove. I guess I may be overrating that something might go wrong, but it never has in the past when I used Revo. I just never had this many files to remove when I uninstalled other programs.

    I did download Geek uninstaller to check it out. I selected McAfee LiveSafe and it just brought up the uninstaller in the McAfee program. I didn't continue with the removal. Does Geek remove all those hidden registry files that Revo finds and removes and that a regular uninstaller would miss?

  12. #12
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    I meant to say..." I guess I may be [overreacting] that something might go wrong..." Sorry for the typo.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,594
    Does Geek remove all those hidden registry files that Revo finds and removes and that a regular uninstaller would miss?
    Yes.

  14. #14
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    Midknyte, I didn't uninstall the McAfee LiveSafe program yet, but will let you know how I made out when I do.

  15. #15
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,517
    Midknyte, I just uninstalled McAfee LiveSafe using the geek uninstaller that you mentioned.

    I am trying to see what else I can uninstall that was pre-installed on my Dell laptop that I don't really need. I attached a screenshot of the list of Dell programs that are installed on my laptop. I keep receiving popup windows stating to install new Dell updates. I am not sure which program from the list in my attachment they are pertaining to. Do I need any of the programs listed in the attachment or can I uninstall all of them?



    I am also looking through my startup list and there is an item listed below. I am not sure what this is. Do I need this or should I disable it?

    Delayed Launcher (2) - Intel


    Also, I attached a screenshot of the status of my firewall. Why does it show connected for guest or public networks and not connected for private networks? Shouldn't it be the other way around since I am connected at home?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.