[RESOLVED] wireless wifi problems one device please read/ help thanks !
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: [RESOLVED] wireless wifi problems one device please read/ help thanks !

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766

    Resolved [RESOLVED] wireless wifi problems one device please read/ help thanks !

    I have an unusual problem ( as always).. my laptop with window 10 fails to connect to my router it will by ethernet wire ,, but wireless It sees my network ( I have two),, but states failed to connect . .my other devices re: wireless such as smart phones/ Ipads and my other windows 10 PC/ XP pro all have no problem! .. I even swapped out my older DLINK 850 router for New one..

    so what to do??? well after maybe 5 days of problem shooting and installing I finally hit the dirt and did a RESET windows 10 on the laptop and after three hours ''Voila'' wireless is now seen., and connected ! so after installing my essential priory programs ., it ran fine for maybe two weeks.. then Again same scenario!! no connection! only this time- I only spent one day troubleshooting and then hit the Reset again and voila Network is back and seen/ connected

    So my question is: what's going on here?? .. i have malwarebytes installed // superspyware can also run , plus I ran the FIXME stick program ( and that only found 4 malware) ... There is something going on here . .so for my..,, ( just did this reset last night) MY next set of Tests I am not going to install any on my programs except for exchange pop3 email and HP printer with wireless ,, and trusty ol' Google Chrome .. I'll skip everything else for now and see if this last reset does the trick... i can't believe I have this problem on my PC HP laptop ( see signature) .. yet my other two windows PC"s I have basically the same programs installed and is running fine .... They always see and talk to network .

    Ideas? besides buying a new laptop .
    Last edited by ttodd; December 31st, 2017 at 06:14 PM.
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,818
    One possibility is that Windows 10 is helpfully "updating" your wireless networking drivers for you to the latest non-working version.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    One possibility is that Windows 10 is helpfully "updating" your wireless networking drivers for you to the latest non-working version.

    My windows 10 is 1709 (OS Build 16299.125).. I haven't heard of that before.. .. I'm monitoring it now with my plan in place , day 3 coming up!
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,818

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    I've used the first link listed to turn off auto updating .. thanks will still monitor ..
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    After I did that first link by changing the registry as is listed .. on my first reboot after this a few days later ran into major issues.. See Next post
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    One month .. no wifi..,, reset PC works again..!! Is there anyway to fix this wifi issue without having to reset PC back to New again,..??
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,818
    Not if you have Windows 10 and you have the drivers set to auto-update. Microsoft does not test their updates.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    I'll try and describe situation another way ..
    When my wifi works it works great but every few weeks I lose the ability to log in to wifi and the Only way to fix is to reinstall windows 10 on top of my current win 10 ( save all files) .. there must another to fix ...
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,818
    The issue is undoubtedly caused by Microsoft updates to your Wi-Fi hardware drivers. As long as those are happening, you will have the issue.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    that sounds to me like a copout answer ..Seriously ??
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,818
    If your Wi-Fi works after a fresh install of Windows, and then later it doesn't work, then that means something must have changed, right?

    What could have changed that would affect your Wi-Fi connection?

    If your printer driver changed, or your video driver changed, would that affect your Wi-Fi access? I don't think so.

    So what could it possibly be? If it isn't the Wi-Fi driver, what would it be?

    There is no magic button that you can click on that will fix this. You need to prevent whatever change is occurring that affects your Wi-Fi connection. It really is that simple.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,669
    Did you take note of the Wifi driver version right after your "reset" install? You should look if the version changes, and then see if you can rollback the drivers.

    A "Reset" might solve the problem, but that doesn't help to narrow down what is actually happening.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    Well after only 5 hours it quit again so time will do a full reset no saved files

    if that fails , will reinstall Windows 8 ..
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,766
    OK fresh install.. all in: square 1 ..

    Now your saying don't install any new or further updates..??
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730// //Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 64bit// Windows 10 //1803 (OS Build 17134.112) 64bit /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional_ SP3/ /with Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit 4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •