I've formatted CD but Windows Media Player keeps saying 'Insert a blank disc' ??
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: I've formatted CD but Windows Media Player keeps saying 'Insert a blank disc' ??

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30

    I've formatted CD but Windows Media Player keeps saying 'Insert a blank disc' ??

    I had some files on a CD but I wanted to delete them and then download some mp3 files to the blank disc. I thought the best way would be to format the CD, so I did that. When I tried to get Windows Media Player to accept the mp3 files so they could be burned, it kept asking me to insert a blank disc but I thought that formatting it would have made it blank(?)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,505
    Was this a CD-RW or a CD-R?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30
    Thanks for replying to my post. It's a CD-RW

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,505

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30
    Thanks for giving me those links, jdc. I followed the instructions on the wikihow link and erased the files that way. Then Windows Media Player (WMP) seemed to recognize that the CD was blank and it allowed me to burn some files to it, which was great - 'so far so good'. However, when I copied some more files to the CD and tried to burn them in using WMP, it ejected the disk and told me to insert a blank disk so that files could be written to it. But the files that were already on the CD only amounted to 49 MB! So surely WMP should just have added the new files onto the ones that were already on the CD. Anybody any idea why it would ask me for a NEW BLANK disk - surely you should be able to add files to ones that are already on the disk(?)

    Also, if anybody can explain: I still can't understand why formatting the disk, which I did earlier, didn't seem to erase the files, so that I had to adopt the wikihow link method (see above) to erase them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2
    I believe for Windows you need a DVD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,009
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc2B View Post
    I believe for Windows you need a DVD.
    Windows can burn cds and dvds, and the reference to it having to be a DVD is entirely incorrect.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by photolady View Post
    Windows can burn cds and dvds, and the reference to it having to be a DVD is entirely incorrect.
    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc2B View Post
    I believe for Windows you need a DVD.
    My bad. I was looking at the uncompressed size of the file.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,009
    You're welcome!
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    23,009
    Have you tried a different burner program rather than Windows Media?

    I use cdburnerxp, it works great and it's also free.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by photolady View Post
    Have you tried a different burner program rather than Windows Media?

    I use cdburnerxp, it works great and it's also free.
    Yes I think I did ... but it's a while ago. If I try again, I'll try the one you suggest. Btw, lovely photos you've taken.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •