[RESOLVED] Chrome in Win 7 x64
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: [RESOLVED] Chrome in Win 7 x64

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Chrome in Win 7 x64

    I use Chrome with some scripts only on one site that I use for work, so I'm not very familiar with it. Everwhere else I'm strictly Firefox. I updated Chrome this week to v. 63.0.3239.108.

    I have to downgrade to an older version to use certain Tampermonkey scripts, and I'm not too worried about security because I use it on only that one safe site. I told Revo to just uninstall the program, not the user data, which I presume is my profile. For safety, I moved what I thought was the profile folder onto my desktop. Then I installed 60.0.3112.90, the only other version I had, and moved the profile back in. The program and profile appear to BOTH be in

    C:\Users\myname\AppData\Local\Google

    The program is naked as the day it was born. What happened to my profile files, extensions, etc?
    Last edited by foxy; December 21st, 2017 at 07:56 PM.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    Oh, I also have an exterior HD backup from 12/5 with Chrome 63.0.3239.84, but I'm still not sure whch folder is my profile.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,579
    Type this into the addressbar:
    chrome://version/

    The Profile Path should look something like this:
    C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\profileName

    Moving to Internet Related Issues because this is a browser issue, not an OS issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    C:\Users\Prize-02\myname\Local\Google\Chrome\UserData

    Most of the folders are empty. I think maybe I dropped the profile in the wrong place.
    Can I just copy the profile from my exterior backup and drop it in? But I don't have the installation file for that version.

    After 15 years of Firefox, I feel like I'm in a foreign (enemy)country.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,579
    You can try it. I don't think you've got anything to lose at this point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    Does UserData contain my extensions too?

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,579
    Did you log in with your Google account? Extension info is tied to your Google account.

    Chrome isn't really like Firefox when it comes to profiles. Firefox profiles are way more portable. It's mentioned here:
    https://portableapps.com/apps/intern...hrome_portable

    Issues

    Passwords Not Saved Between PCs By Default: Google Chrome stores passwords in such a way that they are encrypted in a way tied to current PC. While the passwords are not kept or left behind on the PC itself, they won't be retrievable when you move to a new PC. We've added password portability as an advanced option, though, which you can enable by reading the help.html file.

    Certificates Not Portable: Google Chrome has no certificate manager. It uses Windows' certificates manager. So, any certificates you install through the Google Chrome interface are stored on the current local machine and will not travel with you. Thus, you should not use any private certificates with Google Chrome except on your own PC.

    Some Settings Locked Per PC: Google Chrome locks specific settings to a given PC. Details are included in this post. This behavior is by design by the Chrome team. If you would like this changed, please file a bug with the Chrome team. A suggested workaround is to sign in to Google to restore all settings and extensions and to use an extension such as Session Buddy to maintain your session state as you move PCs. Note that PortableApps.com has not evaluated this extension.

    Note that other portable browsers such as Mozilla Firefox, Portable Edition do not have any of the issues mentioned above. These issues are specific to Chrome due to Chrome's design and not something we can work around without fixes to the base app by the Chrome developers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    I don't have a G account, and wouldn't want it used with Chrome anyway. If anything doesn't transfer from the backup HD, I'll have to reinstall it, reluctantly. I save my passwords in Dashlane, not any of the browsers. I use Chrome only on one site for online work.
    Last edited by foxy; December 21st, 2017 at 11:34 PM.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,579
    If you don't have a Google account, then you'll need to reinstall manually. Unfortunately, that's just how Google wants to play.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    I had only a few extensions, reinstalled everything, then today G updated the version to the current without my permission, and I was back where I had been. I can't find anything about update permissions.

    Thanks for your help anyway
    Last edited by foxy; December 22nd, 2017 at 06:43 PM.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,573

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    Thanks, good tutorial.

    I don't know if I want to uninstall and reinstall again for 1 script. Depends on my mood
    Last edited by foxy; December 22nd, 2017 at 11:25 PM.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    Does anyone know why Chrome installs completely into Users instead of Program Files? It's strange.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,573
    Does anyone know why Chrome installs completely into Users instead of Program Files? It's strange.
    Probably due to Microsoft's user account control. You do not have access to much of what is in Program Files, but you do in Users/<username>.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,905
    But I have full access to my User profiles in FF, TB, Clipmate, Irfanview, Opera, etc, and they have Program Files too. OK, I get it. I'm looking for logic. Computers are logical, users are not.

    If you do Christmas, have a lovely holiday!
    Last edited by foxy; December 24th, 2017 at 03:51 PM.

    Hewlett-Packard p6 / BIOS: AMI 7.16 10/05/2011
    CPU: 2.60 gigahertz Intel Pentium G620 /Win 7 Ult. 64 / 6 GB RAM
    Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Opera /MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •