[RESOLVED] Laptop won't boot - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Thread: [RESOLVED] Laptop won't boot

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    70
    I am in partedMagic, but I can't see any of my stuff on there... I have file manager, system Profiler,Keyboard layout, Disk health, Monitor Settings, Network Manager, partition editor, there is a mount gtk? Desktop, 6 different ones.....Not sure I am in the right place, could you tell me where I start and where I got to get my stuff off the HDD??
    I just got to thinking, did you mean for me to use the Vista or the windows 7 that is working?

    Thanks

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,582
    did you mean for me to use the Vista or the windows 7 that is working?
    My notes were for BEFORE you removed the Vista drive.

    Open the File Manager. It is similar to Windows Explorer. The drives are listed on the left hand side. You'd just open the Vista drive, and then copy the files to another hard drive or flash drive.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    70
    Ok I copied the files from OS, but for the life of me I can't find a place to send to my external or save them to hdd, Please tell me how to do that...I have looked at everything with no luck????

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,582
    Both your internal and external drives should be listed in the left hand menu. They will not have names like C: or D:. It's easiest to just look at the size description of the drive. (Ex. sda1 466G)

    Did you plug in your external BEFORE you booted to Parted Magic? I'm not sure that Parted Magic automatically mounts USB drives if you plug them in after boot.

    This might help: https://fixit.litten.com/linuxfilecopy.html

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,403
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    Both your internal and external drives should be listed in the left hand menu. They will not have names like C: or D:. It's easiest to just look at the size description of the drive. (Ex. sda1 466G)

    Did you plug in your external BEFORE you booted to Parted Magic? I'm not sure that Parted Magic automatically mounts USB drives if you plug them in after boot.

    This might help: https://fixit.litten.com/linuxfilecopy.html
    Nice link. Thank you!
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,582
    Well, I can't take credit for that one, but thanks.

    I did a quick write-up and posted it in the UBCD5 Guide (post #6). Let me know if it makes sense.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,403
    Does fine for me. Glad you posted it there. Now we all can find it.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    70
    Yes I plugged my external before I booted into Parted Magic... I found my files and copied them, but I could not find a place to paste into mo external hdd..... So I decided I will try and clone my files, it is still working, so not sure I got anything... Fingers crossed.. Thanks for the information....

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,582
    but I could not find a place to paste into mo external hdd
    What do you mean? Are you sure you selected the right drive?
    Did you follow my instructions on the UBCD5 guide post #6? It should be pretty straightforward.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    70
    Well it ran out of space so going to have to start all over.... I may have to wait until next week to try again, I am having my family here for Christmas, and I got lots to do....Will check back with you later. I will look at post #6 again and hopefully get it done..

    Thanks guys, and Merry Christmas....

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,582
    Well, you definitely need to make sure your target drive has enough space for the data.

    How did you try to "clone" your files? You'd only need to copy your data files. It doesn't make sense to copy all the Windows system files.

    Good luck and Happy Holidays

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    70
    I agree, was not smart to clone the drive....going to copy files I need only...

    Happy Holidays to you also...

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    70
    I finally got my files backed up, that was a big relief... From now on I will keep my personal stuff backed up...
    Thanks to both of you for all your help, after I found my external hdd, it was simple...

    I still don't know what caused it to crash....Only thing I did find on one of the tests I ran, was could be a corrupt or missing NLS file. I reinstalled Vista, working on getting all the drivers loaded....I may go ahead and change to Windows 7......

    Thanks Again and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.