Lost My Sound
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Lost My Sound

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36

    Lost My Sound

    computer-ACPIx64 based pc
    Windows 10

    In the "control panel" under "sound, video, and "game" there is
    NVIDIA vitual audio device (wave extensible)WDM

    Realtek high definition audio control panel

    then I get a box that says "sound" with tabs that say "playback" "recording" "sounds" "communications" and a statement that says "select a playback device below to modify the settings" there are three choices "speakers/headphones" "realtek digital output" and "realtek HDMI output" By the "speakers/headphone" icon is a red arrow pointing down saying "not plugged in" By the "realtek digital output" icon it says "realtek high definition audio ready" By the "realtek HDMI output" it says "realtek high definition audio default device" and the is a checkmark by the icon. Under the "recording" tab the jackmic microphone and line in it says not plugged in. I am running my sound through a stereo receiver using the "Aux". The sound was working yesterday. I unplugged an reinstalled all the connections. Tried updating the drivers. They were all current. Ran the troubleshooter. I don't know what isn't "plugged in" and nothing was changed. I don't know if any of this will help. Let me know if you need more info. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,310
    computer-ACPIx64 based pc
    Windows 10
    What is the exact make/model of the computer or motherboard?

    I am running my sound through a stereo receiver using the "Aux".
    Then speakers/headphone should probably be the default, not HDMI. Is the "Aux" a separate port?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    computer-Dell XPS 730X 00

    board-Dell OP27OJAOO

    Computer will not let me make speakers/headphone be the default

    The stereo is probably from the 70s, Fisher Studio Standard. I would say the "AUX" is a separate port.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,310
    Dell XPS 730X
    Are there any errors in the Device Manager? If it was working yesterday, did you try a System Restore to a previous point?

    The stereo is probably from the 70s, Fisher Studio Standard. I would say the "AUX" is a separate port.
    Is the AUX port on the stereo or on the computer?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    The "Aux" port is on the receiver. No errors in the device manager. I'm not sure but i think the "System Restore" is turned off. No sure where that is.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,219
    If you have System Restore turned off, it should definitely be turned on.

    Link:

    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/system...estore-windows

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    Thank you! It is now on and a restore point created. But I am thinking it is for the current configuration and would not help now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,310
    The "Aux" port is on the receiver. No errors in the device manager. I'm not sure but i think the "System Restore" is turned off. No sure where that is.
    Then what port is it connected to on the computer? Did you try testing the computer with regular headphones?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    I tried regular headphones. I tried powered speakers. I tried the plugs for headphones on the front of the computer and tried the all five of the plug in's on the card in the back of the computer. I'm assuming that is what you meant by "port". I just don't understand when it says "not plugged in".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,310
    I'm assuming that is what you meant by "port".
    I meant the audio output port on your computer.

    So you unplug the receiver, plug in headphones to the audio output port, and then try to change the default playback device to headphones/speakers?

    Can you disable the HDMI audio? What type of monitor are you using?

    You said you tried updating the audio drivers. Did you go to the Dell site and download/reinstall the drivers or not?

    Has anything else changed recently?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    I unplugged the receiver from the computer, plugged in the headphones to the green jack (I actually tried them all). I also tried powered speakers and no sound. I could not change the playback device to headphones/speakers. It wouldn't let me. I disabled the HDMI audio. No sound. Acer P244W digital. I tried updating the drivers and it said they were current. I did not go to the Dell site. Nothing changed that I know of.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,310
    Acer P244W digital
    Just wanted to make sure there were speakers in the monitor, or that you're not using a TV as a monitor.

    http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/...s-730x/drivers
    I don't see Win10 or Win8 drivers on the Dell support site, so I'm guessing you upgraded from Win7? It looks like your system has Realtek ALC888 audio.

    Try uninstalling the audio and installing an updated driver:
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r308...for-Windows-10

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    Uninstalled the driver for Realtek. Downloaded the driver for Windows 10. Ran it and restarted the computer. No sound. Device manager said the devise is working. In the device manager there is "realtek high definition audio" and "NVIDIA GeForce9400GT" display adaptor listed. The little speaker on the bottom left now says Realtek HDMI output 100%. Am I missing something simple that got turned off?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,310
    The little speaker on the bottom left now says Realtek HDMI output 100%
    Yes. The sound is outputting through the HDMI port, so of course you wouldn't hear anything through the headphones. Check the default playback device, and make sure it's NOT on HDMI.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    36
    I'm so confused. How do I check for default playback device.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •