Why isn't Adobe Flash downloading?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Why isn't Adobe Flash downloading?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543

    Why isn't Adobe Flash downloading?

    I have to have Adobe Flash downloaded to use a program and it won't install.

    https://www.flickr.com/photos/830757...posted-public/

    I have tried downloading using 3 browsers: Chrome, FF, Opera and it won't install.
    Help!
    There's a site when I go to it (my time keeping) it gives me the flash sign and tells me to download. I do, but it never installs.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,612
    Chrome has Flash built-in, so you'd just need to have the latest version.

    Please post your OS and browser versions.

    You could try uninstalling and reinstalling Flash, but that would only affect Firefox and Opera.
    https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player...r-windows.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    Chrome has Flash built-in, so you'd just need to have the latest version.

    Please post your OS and browser versions.

    You could try uninstalling and reinstalling Flash, but that would only affect Firefox and Opera.
    https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player...r-windows.html
    Win 10 O/S
    The latest browsers. Just updated FF and Opera.
    I tried Chrome, still not installing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,612
    Do you mean Chrome is not installing?

    Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling Flash yet?

    Are you running any adblockers? There are some fake messages that say Flash is out of date.

    Is it Win10 32 or 64 bit?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    Do you mean Chrome is not installing?

    Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling Flash yet?

    Are you running any adblockers? There are some fake messages that say Flash is out of date.

    Is it Win10 32 or 64 bit?
    Flash is downloading but NOT installing. See the picture of program in Control Panel.
    I have used all 4 browsers to download Flash: Chrome, FF, Edge, Opera. The program is in Control Panel but not useable.
    I don't know how else to explain it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,612
    Like I mentioned, Chrome already has Flash built into it. So it wouldn't require a separate Flash installation. If you're having problems with Chrome, then it might not be a browser issue.

    Edge also has Flash built-in. So again, it should be independent of an Adobe Flash installation.

    Your picture doesn't really tell me anything.

    Again, do you have any ad blockers installed? It's possible that it's a fake Flash message.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543
    This is my flash settings in Opera:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/830757...posted-public/
    There doesn't seem to be a way to enable Flash, even though I have downloaded it.

    Here's a screen shot of the plug-ins for Firefox. Most if not all of these flashes are not installed, but I don't know how to install from the FF settings:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/830757...posted-public/

    I just want to run Flash, I don't care from what browser.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,695
    How are you downloading the Flash Player installer? When I download the installer, I always select Save As and save the installer to a file folder. Then, before running it, I make a Backup folder and save a copy of the installer there also, since the installer will be deleted automatically after it runs. Try this and report back what errors or messages, if any, you get when installing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Belfast, Ulster.
    Posts
    1,859
    Also Sal, in your second picture the add-ons are nothing to do with Adobe Flash as such.
    They do not need to be installed, are written by various people not associated with Adobe and as with all Add-ons should be approached cautiously.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,612
    Flash is a PLUGIN, not an Extension in Firefox. You need to look at the Plugins section.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543
    Here is a screenshot of my Firefox Add-in:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/830757...posted-public/
    It looks like the Flash is installed, but I still cannot use it. How do I activate it?
    Notice it's not shockwave flash.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    21,396
    What started all of this? Why do you need flash? Is there some website you can access?
    "They say "don't try this at home" so I'm coming over to your house to try it."

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    What started all of this? Why do you need flash? Is there some website you can access?
    I don't know what happened, like with everything Windows related stuff happens.
    I need it to access my timecard. See the screenshots. It looks like I have flash installed (i've installed it several times) but when I go to use it at certain websites, like my timecard site, it states I need flash.

    I do wish these sites would do away with Flash, it's a big headache.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,695
    Have you tested Flash Player on Adobe's test page? If it works there, then the site you are trying to access that says it isn't working is not correctly reporting the status.

    Flash Player test info:

    https://www.techwalla.com/articles/h...yer-is-working

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,543
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    Have you tested Flash Player on Adobe's test page? If it works there, then the site you are trying to access that says it isn't working is not correctly reporting the status.

    Flash Player test info:

    https://www.techwalla.com/articles/h...yer-is-working
    Nothing works. I don't have Flash installed according to Adobe, even though I've installed it every which way with every browser possible.
    I can't see my timecard without Flash and I can't run certain sites with Flash. Isn't Flash considered an OLD PROGRAM that coders are doing away with? Is there a work around or a "generic" flash???

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •