Removing all A-V except MS?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Removing all A-V except MS?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,842

    Removing all A-V except MS?

    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/new...pt-microsofts/

    Avira tossed 3 perfectly good programs in the quarantine garbage can. I fought with it to get them back, and won. I had chosen Avira because Avast had their own popup ads. Now Avira does too.

    Wise to move to MS Sec Essentials?
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,378
    What I have been using for years now. Well since XP SP3 anyway and have had no problems.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,927
    Same here as Train. Keeps my computer clean and I'm using Windows 7.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks, that decides it for me.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,842
    Uninstalled Avira and installed MSSE. Do I still need BitDefender AntiRansomware and MalwareBytes AntiExploit running in the background?
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,842
    bump
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,378
    I would call them your choice items, as I have never seen the need to even try them.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,927
    I agree with Train. I also never saw a need to use extras. MSE keeps my computer clean, so I don't need other software to take up space on my SSD.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970 Gaming Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8350 4Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce 710 GT 2GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower; HP 25" LED/LCD IPS monitor

    Built by Me, in 2017!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,203
    Possibly useful links:

    https://www.pcmag.com/review/355699/...nti-ransomware

    https://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2455505,00.asp

    (MalwareBytes) Exploit protection is no longer a separate product.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •