Drive Letters Changed Now I have issues playing on media player
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Drive Letters Changed Now I have issues playing on media player

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Orem, UT, USA
    Posts
    217

    Drive Letters Changed Now I have issues playing on media player

    I have one hard drive that I saved all my music and videos to over the years. Recently I got rid of a hard drive that had gone bad, put in new CPU and case fans. Bsically had everything disconnected. Once I put the computer back together my media hard drive was listed under a different drive identifier it was "H Media Harddrive" now it's "E Media Harddrive" all the files are still there and play just fine when I click on them one at a time. But, if I try to select them from windows media player it simply says file does not exist and If I try copying them directly to my C drive or somewhere else I get: Error "could not find this item. This is no longer located in H:..... Verify the item's location and try again"

    So, How do I get the files to reflect the correct Drive identifier?

    I've tried deleting the abbreviated file name in the command prompt, as suggested by several after a quick google search and all that did was delete the file that I didn't want to delete.

    I don't want to delete anything. I just want the computer to recognize those files again.

    Any ideas? Will changing the drive back to H fix it? I have an external Hard drive that is using H now it it seems to be working fine.
    ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB3 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T six-core Processor
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 Memory
    Pioneer Blu-ray burner
    Samsung SyncMaster SA350 Montior
    Windows 7

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,081
    The Windows Media Player user interface for Windows 7 is not the best. As is usual for them, Microsoft wants you to do it their way instead of your way. You may need to create a new playlist.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=wind....0.w_mqqt8SPEY

    Or, you may want to index the new drive:

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...ee20e89?auth=1

    https://www.google.com/search?q=wind....0.8ziZOoTH_H0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Orem, UT, USA
    Posts
    217
    What about not being able to copy or move files to another location? With the error saying the files are no longer there when they actually are?
    ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB3 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T six-core Processor
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 Memory
    Pioneer Blu-ray burner
    Samsung SyncMaster SA350 Montior
    Windows 7

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,081
    Windows Media Player says the files are no longer there because it is looking for them on the wrong drive. Unfortunately, there is no easy way to simply tell Windows Media Player that you moved the files. You could check out the link below:

    http://www.winhelponline.com/xp/editwpl.htm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,320
    Change the drive letter back to H.
    https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-chan...letter-2626069
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Orem, UT, USA
    Posts
    217
    I changed the drive letter back to H and I'm still having the same issue. However, I noticed something new; I wrote it correctly above "could not find this item. This is no longer located in H:..... Verify the item's location and try again" but I did not realize the new drive I was attempting to copy to was the new "H" drive. The old media drive was H (Currently E) and the new drive I was attempting to copy to is now H. Once I change it back I realized I was reading/understanding it wrong.
    That might sound confusing: What it is saying is the file I'm trying to copy is not in the location I am trying to copy to. Or it is verifying the destination of the file prior to the placement of that file at the destination...which is causing the error.

    So how do I force it to create the copy prior to verifying whether the copy has been completed? What causes it to check for a copy in the location it is supposed to be copied to?
    ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB3 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T six-core Processor
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 Memory
    Pioneer Blu-ray burner
    Samsung SyncMaster SA350 Montior
    Windows 7

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,320
    If you want a copy in both places, then yes.

    Just manke darn sure the file path, shortcut or what ever it is, is correct.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Orem, UT, USA
    Posts
    217
    Very Strange: It will allow me to copy (Cut and Paste) one file only, before giving me the same error "could not find this item. This is no longer located in H:..... Verify the item's location and try again". When I restart my computer I can move one more file.

    In case your wondering.. my media drive is full, I bought a much larger drive that could easily handle everything I own. That's my entire purpose of moving files.

    So, have you ever seen something like that where you could only do one move between reboots?
    ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB3 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T six-core Processor
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 Memory
    Pioneer Blu-ray burner
    Samsung SyncMaster SA350 Montior
    Windows 7

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,229

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,081
    Did you try re-indexing the drive? Even after you switch the drive letter back, you may still need to do that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •