OT: Robocalls and Landline phones
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: OT: Robocalls and Landline phones

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,532

    OT: Robocalls and Landline phones

    For weeks now I've been getting auto robocalls, like on speed dial, that calls me every hour and states: If you are interested in a job.....Press 1...if you want to stop the calls, press 9.
    These calls now go into my answer machine, but they call 5:30am 9:30pm, on and on and I don't answer unless I know it's a friend or a business call.
    I am on the do not call registry. No luck. Keeps coming.
    I try to reverse dial the number. No luck. Keeps coming.
    Does anybody have a solution? Maybe I should change my phone number?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,205
    What you want to combat these calls is something like NoMoRobo.

    https://www.nomorobo.com/

    What you need is a device or service that sends the phone company's tones indicating that your number has been disconnected and is no longer in service to the Robo caller's hardware. It should then get flagged to no longer get calls. No guarantees it will work on every Robo call, but it should reduce the number you get substantially.

    https://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2492079,00.asp

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,532
    Thanks so much!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,205
    Note that if you press "9" on those calls, or say anything, your number is flagged as "In Service" and you will continue to get the calls. Also, the number that shows up on your caller ID for robo calls is almost certainly fake. Caller IDs can easily be overridden with fake numbers by the robo callers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,842
    I get them on my cell too, although nowhere near that often. They get my landline # from the phone directory, but how do they get my cell #? Only a few friends and my doctors have it. Never, never, never any place online.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,378
    I get them on the cell to. If I get a call and I do not know them, I refuse to answer. Let I will block them. Lucky I have a setting to do that.

    House phone , I can go online and block numbers. Not many but it does help.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,205
    Robo callers use equipment know as "war dialers" that are programmed to call every possible number in a given number range. They have everyone's number.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,842
    Quote Originally Posted by Train View Post
    I get them on the cell to. If I get a call and I do not know them, I refuse to answer. Let I will block them. Lucky I have a setting to do that.

    House phone , I can go online and block numbers. Not many but it does help.
    They keep changing their number. But I've turned off some of the phony computer techs by telling them I don't have a computer. (I have 4.)
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,568
    I've been using "Call Control" app on my Samsung cell phone for over two years. It's cut down on unwanted calls by more than 90%. Very inexpensive for a one time purchase to get full programming ability and no ads but even the free version works well and the ads are unobtrusive and it gives you a chance to see how it works before you buy it.

    https://www.callcontrol.com/


    EDIT- I see they now also have a unit for landlines. I've never used it and don't have a landline anymore in any case.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,205

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •