RunDLL error
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RunDLL error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1998
    Location
    Lone Star State Texas
    Posts
    1,471

    RunDLL error

    After jacking with my printer cause I was having issue with connectivity I have an Cannon MX420 which uses two types of connection LAN or WiFi. For some reason the printer here recently just can retain the IP address in its memory and I have to consistently go back and re-input the IP address and passcode aka password. I am not sure if this is because when I upgraded to Windows 10 after a year or so this has been going on. This seems to happen alot with the LAN hardwire too.

    So try to fresh install everything that has to do with my printer, but I am getting a RunDLL error message every time I restart myself system.
    PrinterError.JPG

    I read up on some repairs online and I think I find the issues to be in the StartUp program called Window host process (Rundll32) and I disable it.

    Is this wise?

    Capture.JPG
    Last edited by Tinkertron; September 19th, 2017 at 01:33 PM.
    Asus M5A97 LE R2.0
    AMD FX 4-Core Black Edition FX-4350
    Thermaltake TR2-R1 CPU Cooler
    Klevv Neo 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
    PNY CS1311 SSD - 240GB SATA3 6Gb/s Windows 10 Pro
    Western Digital Green SATA 6 Gb 1TB - Backup Drive
    Samsung DVD Writer SH-S203 (SATA)
    CoolMax CU Modular Power Supply 700W
    EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,320
    Is it located in the right place?
    http://smallbusiness.chron.com/micro...l32-56039.html
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,080
    A better option would be to disable the Startup entry for cnmss

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...0-ed5318d6a70e

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1998
    Location
    Lone Star State Texas
    Posts
    1,471
    Quote Originally Posted by Train View Post
    I saw a DLL file there (which I found out shouldn't have been there) from what I heard all DLL file should be the System32 folder, anywhere else, might be a virus. ???
    Asus M5A97 LE R2.0
    AMD FX 4-Core Black Edition FX-4350
    Thermaltake TR2-R1 CPU Cooler
    Klevv Neo 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
    PNY CS1311 SSD - 240GB SATA3 6Gb/s Windows 10 Pro
    Western Digital Green SATA 6 Gb 1TB - Backup Drive
    Samsung DVD Writer SH-S203 (SATA)
    CoolMax CU Modular Power Supply 700W
    EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,320
    Anywhere else could well be a nasty.
    Upload and check it out.
    https://www.virustotal.com/#/home/upload
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,229
    What is the exact path of your rundll32.exe files? System32 is not the only folder it would be in.

    C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe (Active x64 version)
    C:\Windows\SysWOW64\rundll32.exe (Active x86 version)

    You'll also find rundll32.exe in the C:\Windows\winsxs\ folder. Those are backup copies for the x86 and x64 files.

    As jdc2000 mentioned, the problem would probably be with cnmss, not rundll32.exe itself.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •