[RESOLVED] Most foolproof way to wipe drives
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] Most foolproof way to wipe drives

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,837

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Most foolproof way to wipe drives

    It's so long since I've done this. What's the easiest way? I need to wipe 2 drives to use as backups, neither of which is the one I'm working from. Does slave-master still apply in SATA?

    Also need to completely wipe another Vista HD already in a puter in preparation for clean-installing Win 7 on it. Will the Win 7 DVD wipe it before installation?
    Last edited by foxy; September 9th, 2017 at 11:24 PM.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,157
    You can format the boot drive during Windows installation. If you are not concerned about any malware leftovers, the link below has info. Make sure you have backups of any needed files on them, as well as any re-installation files or info for Windows r application software and drivers.

    http://www.wikihow.com/Format-the-C-...With-Windows-7

    There is no Master/Slave with SATA drives. You can just format them also.

    If you really want to wipe them due to sensitive files or data, or malware remnants, you can use DBAN or Eraser. Just make sure to select the CORRECT drive to use these utilities on, as once they are done there is no hope of recovering anything on the drive that they have erased.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,358
    DBAN, using the default setting, overwrites everything 3 times.
    I use the iso to make a bootable cd or thumbdrive as needed.
    Boot to it and make darn sure the drive I want to wipe, is the only one attached to the computer.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,837
    And should I use D-Ban on the 2 drives I'm readying for backups? Does it also install the format?
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,358
    No, DBAN simply overwries everything of the drive. You will need to partiton it and format it afterward.

    Or you can simply re-formate the drives from Widows. I have done that too.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,837
    Thanks, guys. :-)
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/MS Sec. Essentials/Win Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •