[RESOLVED] Formatting a hard drive on a Lenovo 3000
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: [RESOLVED] Formatting a hard drive on a Lenovo 3000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    13

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Formatting a hard drive on a Lenovo 3000

    Lenovo 3000
    windows 7

    I have formatted hard drives on a desktop many times but never in a laptop. How is that done? Do I need to get a new hard drive? Need more info let me know.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    The procedure is the same for laptops.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,094

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    13
    Wow! Thanks for all the info. I guess I was always formatting with adding a hard drive I wanted to format to an existing computer and doing it that way. So I will make a UBCD CD and learn something new.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,094
    If there is only one drive in your Lenovo 3000, and you are wanting to re-install the original Windows 7, you will need some sort of recovery or installation media to accomplish this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    What are you trying to do exactly? If you are reinstalling the OS, you can reformat the drive during installation. Again, this is the same thing you'd do for a desktop.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    13
    I was given this laptop and it takes a long time for some things to load. Also some of the features don't work like "windows update" and other programs. Some work just fine and others don't. I have Windows seven ultimate 32 and 64 programs. So I would like to install Windows seven 64 bit. The way I would format a hard drive was to put the hard drive I wanted to format in a computer that had a hard drive then format it. This laptop only has one hard drive so I can't do that. I tried the F11 thing and it didn't work. I tried F12 and that didn't work. I tried using the Windows seven program disk and that didn't work. I haven't made a UBCD CD yet since I just got home.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    Pay close attention steps 6, 7 and 8. I delete the partition, then make it again. Yes the stuff on the partition is gone.
    https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorial...ndows-7-a.html
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    I would try the Lenovo factory restore first, as Train mentioned in post #7. That would also install all the drivers. Otherwise, you'd need to search the Lenovo support site and download them BEFORE you reformat the drive.

    The way I would format a hard drive was to put the hard drive I wanted to format in a computer that had a hard drive then format it.
    I don't see why you'd need to do that. You can format the drive during the Windows setup.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,094
    Pressing F10 should get you to the boot menu when starting up the computer. You should then be able to select an option to boot from the CD/DVD drive.

    Possibly useful link:

    https://restore.solutions/en/ibmlenovo3000n1000768/


    Note: That computer can take a maximum of 2 GB of RAM. If it doesn't already have 2 GB, you may want to consider upgrading to speed it up.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    13
    Yahoo! I tried many of your suggestions and the computer would freeze before completion of the tasks. I finally got a flash drive to load all the drivers. They would start loading and then stop. But each time the progress bar went a little further until the time it finished. Also, the Windows 7 installation disk would only go so far and then stop. It finally said I had an older version of Windows 7. So I did a clean install of my older version and it seems to be working. I did get SP1.

    So it is a Pentium duel core T4200 @ 2.00 GHz
    RAM 4 GB
    64 bit

    Thank you very much for all the help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •