Another UAC problem?
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Another UAC problem?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,780

    Another UAC problem?

    D/L newer 64-bit driver for my older webcam from this page:

    http://support.logitech.com/en_us/pr...-mp/downloads#
    My webcam, S5500, is listed as being supported.

    It started installing, went almost to the end, and 3 subfolders were installed, but no exe file. I'm getting the UAC stuff

    "Run as Admin:" "You don't have permission to install this."

    I switched to the Hidden Admin account and got a similar message "insufficient privileges," then 5 reasons for denial One is "you don't have permission to access "C:\Program Data\filename" for 5 files. Contact your administrator." I don't know why that folder is involved in this.
    Logitech error.jpg #1,2 5 are not relevant.

    I tried temporarily lowering the security lever on my user account. nada

    Then I tried another copy of the file, from a different part of the website, although it's possible they're both corrupt/ identical.

    Again, this is something I need for occasional online work, otherwise I wouldn't bother.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Avira/Win Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,160
    Some times, when that happens on install, I right click the installer and select Run as Admin [ or words to that effect ] .

    Have had good luck with that trick so far.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,780
    You didn't read all of my post. 4th paragraph.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Avira/Win Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,882
    Does the software give you an option to install to a different location? If yes, then you can try the ideas from one of the links below:

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ows-2000-aware

    https://www.sevenforums.com/software...-accounts.html

    Install to %APPDATA% folder:

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/26907...u-need-it.html

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...3-72bfcd1f54a5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,780
    The install is all automated, and goes into Program Files (implied 64-bit.) Dozens of files appear to unzip, and it looks almost complete, and then I get the message in the image I posted. I originally posted this on SevenForums, and they were stymied too. It's possible the file is corrupt. When I get my XP machine in order, I'll run my old 32-bit webcam program on there, but it will have to connect to the web.

    Since I got this Win 7 puter, I spend more time troubleshooting than working. I managed to keep XP safe for 3 years with few extra security programs running resident.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Avira/Win Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,882
    That error message, like most error messages, is not really very helpful. It just means that the programmer created one error message to cover all possible error conditions. I might try re-downloading the install package file again.

    If most of the files are there, can you find the .exe that you would normally run? If yes, you could try running that just to see what happens. There may be a way to get it running using some manual fixes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,882
    One other thing you could try would be to completely disable UAC (temporarily) to see if the install works then. Disable UAC, reboot, try the install, re-enable UAC. I do NOT recommend leaving UAC disabled all the time, due to the sophistication of today's malware, so re-enable it again whether or not the install works.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/4820...-on-windows-7/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,780
    Most of the files disappeared with the error message. Only icons and read-me's left. Tried the registry hack, (then reinstated it, in case you're worrying) no diff, so it's not the UAC. That makes me feel better. Let's drop this for now, as a new webcam is not in the immediate future.

    I'll bet Linux users don't have to change their hardware every time the OS is upgraded...
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Avira/Win Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,882
    The last thing I can think of to try is to power off the computer when the error message appears (not shut down - cut the power). This would leave the files in place. However, it might cause other issues.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,111
    Did you ever repair the junction points like I said? You didn't reply.
    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...73#post1527173

    I don't think it's fair to blame Win7, if you messed with things like junction points.

    I'm assuming you downloaded lws110_x64.exe

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,780
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    Did you ever repair the junction points like I said? You didn't reply.
    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...73#post1527173

    I don't think it's fair to blame Win7, if you messed with things like junction points.

    I'm assuming you downloaded lws110_x64.exe
    Yes, I repaired the junction points with Junction Box. And I hadn't messed with them, just looked at them and pointed them out. I'm around long enough to know not to touch system files.

    I've tried this with that 3 copies of that same webcam driver from different parts of the Logitech site. Maybe time for a new webcam.
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Avira/Win Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,780
    Win Event logs attached. There are several of each listed for the same time. The last indicates a nonexistent success for the install.


    install log from the Temp folder:

    === Verbose logging started: 6/13/2017 21:07:27 Build type: SHIP UNICODE 5.00.7601.00 Calling process: C:\Users\Prize-02\AppData\Local\Temp\Logitech_Webcam_1.10.1113.0\Setup\MSetup.exe ===
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:539]: Resetting cached policy values
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:539]: Machine policy value 'Debug' is 0
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:539]: ******* RunEngine:
    ******* Product: C:\Users\Prize-02\AppData\Local\Temp\Logitech_Webcam_1.10.1113.0\LWS\LWS64.msi
    ******* Action:
    ******* CommandLine: **********
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:539]: Client-side and UI is none or basic: Running entire install on the server.
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:539]: Grabbed execution mutex.
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:540]: Cloaking enabled.
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:540]: Attempting to enable all disabled privileges before calling Install on Server
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:540]: Incrementing counter to disable shutdown. Counter after increment: 0
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:543]: Running installation inside multi-package transaction C:\Users\Prize-02\AppData\Local\Temp\Logitech_Webcam_1.10.1113.0\LWS\LWS64.msi
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:543]: Grabbed execution mutex.
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:543]: Resetting cached policy values
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:543]: Machine policy value 'Debug' is 0
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:543]: ******* RunEngine:
    ******* Product: C:\Users\Prize-02\AppData\Local\Temp\Logitech_Webcam_1.10.1113.0\LWS\LWS64.msi
    ******* Action:
    ******* CommandLine: **********
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:544]: Machine policy value 'DisableUserInstalls' is 0
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:550]: SRSetRestorePoint skipped for this transaction.
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:551]: Note: 1: 1402 2: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer 3: 2
    MSI (s) (CC:98) [21:07:27:552]: MainEngineThread is returning 2
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:552]: No System Restore sequence number for this installation.
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:552]: User policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:552]: Machine policy value 'DisableRollback' is 0
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:552]: Incrementing counter to disable shutdown. Counter after increment: 0
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:552]: Note: 1: 1402 2: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Rollback\Scripts 3: 2
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:553]: Note: 1: 1402 2: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\Rollback\Scripts 3: 2
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:553]: Note: 1: 1402 2: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\InProgress 3: 2
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:553]: Note: 1: 1402 2: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\InProgress 3: 2
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:553]: Decrementing counter to disable shutdown. If counter >= 0, shutdown will be denied. Counter after decrement: -1
    MSI (s) (CC:60) [21:07:27:553]: Restoring environment variables
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:553]: Decrementing counter to disable shutdown. If counter >= 0, shutdown will be denied. Counter after decrement: -1
    MSI (c) (10:74) [21:07:27:554]: MainEngineThread is returning 2
    === Verbose logging stopped: 6/13/2017 21:07:27 ===
    Attached Images Attached Images
    HP Win 7 Ult. 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/Avira/Win Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS wired network
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •