Networking XP to Win7 Ultimate
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Networking XP to Win7 Ultimate

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760

    Networking XP to Win7 Ultimate

    I have 2 desktop computers and one printer on my wired network, the ones in my sig. I won't even attempt getting the Win XP Home one on till this is solved. I want to share files, printer and internet. I have Verizon FIOS with Actiontec router/modem

    When I marked certain files in each puter for sharing, surprisingly, the network set itself up immediately, calling itself generic "Homegroup."

    I've renamed the network my old name "RSNETWORK," but when I click on it, there's the message below for this Win7 comp, saying I'm not on. I've already followed a tutorial and listed my network as "work" rather than "home, " because of the XP. Is there a difference between a homegroup and a network?

    http://s1066.photobucket.com/user/ph...netw1.jpg.html

    http://s1066.photobucket.com/user/ph...50374.jpg.html
    ---------------------------------------------------------

    config:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Prize-02>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Win7comp
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 38-60-77-9F-9E-9D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d03b:7f88:bfdd:32fd%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 05, 2017 11:30:08 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 06, 2017 5:54:22 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 238575735
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1F-98-4A-4A-38-60-77-9F-9E-9D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:3469:21ea:3f57:fefd(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3469:21ea:3f57:fefd%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Prize-02>
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    The Verizon techie was here this week to reset my ONT because I had unplugged it, and he turned off my internet temporarily. I don't know if that's relevant. Before he left, we checked to see each puter had internet, but they don't handle networking.
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    Homegroups only work for Win7 and higher. You need to use "Workgroups".

    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...dows-7-and-xp/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    OK, I followed the tutorial. Win 7 can interact with XP files. Both puters see the shared printer. On XP, I can see the names of Win 7 shared files, but I get the message "Unaccessible. You might not have permission..." Sounds like Win7's security settings again.
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,826
    Do you have user accounts with the same user name and password on both computers? If yes, check the permissions on the folder(s) that you want to share.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    Which folders did you share? Post the full path of the folder.
    Which users/groups did you give access to the shared folder?

    Double-check the settings in the tutorial and make sure you checked all the correct options.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    5,578
    With Windows XP Home it always uses simple file sharing. You find these links helpful.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...-in-windows-xp

    http://www.home-network-help.com/fil...windows-7.html
    Eric

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    Do you have user accounts with the same user name and password on both computers? If yes, check the permissions on the folder(s) that you want to share.
    My instinct was right--Win 7 permissions again.

    Different user names, no passwords. Would "Everyone" be the sharing permission I need on 7? Or the XP username? or the name of the XP computer?

    The tutorial doesn't cover changing permissions on 7, only setting up sharing. Or am I missing it?
    Last edited by foxy; May 8th, 2017 at 07:21 PM.
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    Quote Originally Posted by ecross View Post
    With Windows XP Home it always uses simple file sharing. You find these links helpful.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...-in-windows-xp

    http://www.home-network-help.com/fil...windows-7.html

    Thanks. I have no issues with XP file-sharing, after 15 years of use. I just keep it off the web. I've had Win 7 only a few months, and I'm slowly chipping away at its security settings.
    Last edited by foxy; May 8th, 2017 at 07:31 PM.
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    On XP, I'm sharing

    C:\Documents and Settings\ROHP (my user name + all subfolders)
    D:\ (the entire data partition)

    On Win 7:
    C:\Doc and Sett\Prize-02 (my username)\ (with all subfolders)
    D:\ (the entire data partition)
    Last edited by foxy; May 8th, 2017 at 07:31 PM.
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    The problem is XP accessing 7, right?

    On Win 7:
    C:\Doc and Sett\Prize-02 (my username)\ (with all subfolders)
    D:\ (the entire data partition)
    There is no "Doc and Sett" in 7. That is a junction point. The actual path would be C:\Users\username\foldername
    I don't recommend that you share the C:\Users\username folder, since that grants access to your profile info.
    It would be better if you just shared one of the subfolders, or create a dedicated folder like C:\Shared.

    You would need to add the "Everyone" group under the Security tab and then add the desired Allow permissions (Read, Read & execute, etc).

    In the tutorial, it says to "turn off password protected sharing". Double-check that setting.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    Fixed.

    Am I going to have a major security issue cloning my HD to my externam HD?
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    So what fixed it?

    What do you mean by major security issue? What cloning software are you using?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    I removed the sharing of Username, made folder C:\Shared.

    I use Macrium Reflect, the last free version, and I haven't cloned this computer yet. Will Win 7 say I don't have permission to copy everything? I'm being proactive and avoiding coming back here with one more problem.
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    You should create an IMAGE backup instead. Cloning will overwrite the external drive with a copy of your internal. I don't think that's what you want to do.
    https://www.raymond.cc/blog/how-to-c...-norton-ghost/

    Will Win 7 say I don't have permission to copy everything?
    It shouldn't.

    I'm an Acronis True Image guy, but there are others here that use Macrium. If you need help with Macrium, I suggest you create a new thread.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NYC Metro area
    Posts
    1,760
    I've always used Seagate or Macrium. They're just stripped-down versions of Acronis, without the differential and incremental features. I meant imaging. Cloning will also copy 50 GB free space

    Thanks to all who helped:-)
    HP Win 7 Ultimate 6 GB RAM/Firefox/Thunderbird/Chrome/BitDefender A-V/Windows Firewall
    HP 7700 XP Pro SP3/4 GB RAM/BitDefender/Comodo Firewall
    Verizon FIOS
    ------------------------------------------------------
    "The medium is the message." - Marshall McLuhan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •