No display on screen
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No display on screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,431

    No display on screen

    The monitor works because I can see the 'No Signal Input' splash screen. The cable hasn't been moved since it worked five minutes ago and the connections are secure but I get no display. There might be a BSOD that I can't see, something about the way the picture died reminded me of what happens when a BSOD occurs.

    I'm going to try booting in Safe Mode and turning off driver signing because my hunch (a technical term) is that driver signing is something to do with it. Anyone got any other bright ideas?

    Thanks - rev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,292
    The typical things to do would be to reseat the video card and ram. If you changed to an unsupported resolution, that could have caused the issue.

    Driver signing would prevent you from installing new drivers if they were unsigned, so I doubt that is the cause.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,431
    >Driver signing would prevent you from installing new drivers if they were unsigned, so I doubt that is the cause.
    I had a hunch you wouldn't like my hunch...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,203
    Did rebooting fix the issue?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,431
    No. I now suspect the capacitors because the electricity in Mexico (where I live) is not stable.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,203
    Is this a desktop or a laptop system?

    If it is a desktop, are you using on-the-motherboard graphics?

    If you have a spare video card, you could try that.

    Usually if the motherboard capacitors are bad, the system won't even boot.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,431
    No, graphics come from an nvidia card, don't have a spare. Desktop.
    Last edited by Reverend; March 8th, 2017 at 06:00 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,203
    If the capacitors on the motherboard look OK, and the PC appears to be booting (hard drive light flickers, etc.) but you just can't see anything on the screen, it might be time for another video card. It doesn't have to be an NVidia one, a cheap one for testing would let you know if the existing video card is the problem, and then you would have a spare for testing. The only other thing you could try is moving the video card to a different slot, in case the slot is bad. Make sure the fan on it is working and the heat sink is not clogged with dust and is seated properly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •