[RESOLVED] I am working on win xp, I had to reinstall everything, Now I can't get online - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 56

Thread: [RESOLVED] I am working on win xp, I had to reinstall everything, Now I can't get online

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    Still can't get pc to find my server, I have never has this much trouble before... Something must have quit in the computer, this is just crazy...
    Thanks for help

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    What server are you talking about? You configured a server on your own network?

    Did you install the chipset drivers or not?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    What server are you talking about? You configured a server on your own network?

    Did you install the chipset drivers or not?
    Yes I installed those drivers... when I say server I mean my ISP, it can't find my router or Isp, I guess that is why I can't get online. I can get online with msn.com, but can't go anywhere, that is strange???

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    So you don't have any yellow exclamation marks in Device Manager anymore?

    Gateway and DNS is same on both computers
    How did you check your gateway and DNS? Are you using DHCP or static IPs?

    It might help if you post your ipconfig info.
    Open a command prompt and type "ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt" (without the quotes)
    Open the ipconfig.txt in C:\ and post the info

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    So you don't have any yellow exclamation marks in Device Manager anymore?


    How did you check your gateway and DNS? Are you using DHCP or static IPs?

    It might help if you post your ipconfig info.
    Open a command prompt and type "ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt" (without the quotes)
    Open the ipconfig.txt in C:\ and post the info
    Sorry I got locked out forgot password

    Here is IPconfig info

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Viva-Ken> ipconfig /all C:\ ipconfig.txt

    Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information.
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"

    C:\Documents and Settings\Viva-Ken>

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    You didn't copy the command properly. Please do it again. You need the > to export it to a text file.

    ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    You didn't copy the command properly. Please do it again. You need the > to export it to a text file.

    ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt
    I can't get it to do anything, I put it in just like you showed me, it just goes to same thing over and over?? I put the > between the all and C:\ and it don't show anything.

    ipconfig /all >C:\ipconfig.txt this is how I put it and it starts thing

    What am I doing wrong???

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    ipconfig /all >C:\ipconfig.tx
    You missed the space between > and C
    Just copy and paste the command.

    ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    You missed the space between > and C
    Just copy and paste the command.

    ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Viva-Ken>ipconfig /all > c:\ipconfig.txt

    C:\Documents and Settings\Viva-Ken>c:/
    'c:/' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Viva-Ken>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : viva-1953
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-C9-EC-5B
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.129
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 21, 2017 10:22:54
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 22, 2017 10:22:5

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    Ok, I guess you just copied the command prompt instead of the text file.

    Looks like the computer is pointing back at the router properly. It's a little weird that it chose 129, but it's still a valid IP.

    Did you check your browsers and make sure it isn't using proxy settings?

    Did you try pinging www.yahoo.com or www.google.com?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    No I haven't I will check both of those and let you know... Thanks so much.....

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    It pinged both yahoo and google with no loss. I didn't have proxy on Internet Explorer....

    I seen the Host viva1953, is that the router or host computer... I am not sure that is right???

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,080
    Host viva1953 that is your computer.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    55
    No this computer is Viva-Ken, that is the name and description both...I tried everything to get it going I must have put that in, how do I change that? Or do I need too?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,819
    You could try changing the secondary DNS Server to either 8.8.8.8 or 8.8.4.4 to see if the works.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •