Firefox patch virus? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: Firefox patch virus?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,161
    Do you know a good adblocker to use on chrome?
    uBlock Origin. Same as FF.
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...jbkeiagm?hl=en

    Shouldn't I be as worried/concerned since it appears that I only have a shortcut of the "firefox-patch.js" file and not the actual file?
    If you only have the shortcut, then there's a good chance the actual files was deleted by your antivirus/antimalware already.

  2. #17
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Midknyte, thanks for that link. I always use "incognito" mode when I use chrome. Will this adblock work in that mode?

    I am not sure if I had a AV program running at the time. I can't recall if I did. I know I had disabled Microsoft defender when I installed Avast AV freeware program. How can I check to see whether it is disabled? What is the best security programs that I should be running 24/7 in windows 10 when I surf the net? How should I have it configured?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,950
    Your name and address are probably available elsewhere.

    Credentials would be something like a user name and password for sites like this one, or online banking or shopping sites. If the script installed a keylogger, those may have been collected.

    The fact that only a shortcut to the script is showing could mean that the script already completed its work and deleted the original file.

    If you run Task Manager, do you see a process called fileopenerpro.exe?

  4. #19
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    JDC2000, I don't see any file titled "fileopenerpro.exe" in the details section of task manager, assuming I checked the correct location in task manager.

    I did log into my online banking and paid a few bills and purchased some items online. I guess there isn't a way to know if they colllected my user name and passwords from accounts that I had logged into? I'm upset and worried at the same time. How concerned should I be regarding this?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,161
    I always use "incognito" mode when I use chrome. Will this adblock work in that mode?
    Yes. Incognito mode doesn't affect the adblocking.

    I don't use Avast, so I don't know the exact settings. The defaults are probably fine. I'd use that and do weekly scans with MBAM. uBlock Origin should cut down on the possible malware ads/popups also.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,950
    It would be under processes. If you don't see that, and you scans did not find anything, your AV may have gotten it before it could do anything harmful. It wouldn't hurt to change passwords on user accounts you have used on this PC though.

  7. #22
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Midknyte, I installed that add-on in chrome. I closed chrome and re-opened in cognito mode, but I don't see the icon for it at top right next to address bar. I do see it in regular mode in chrome though.

    JDC2000, I don't see that file in processes. I am trying to remember all the accounts that I had logged into, so I can change my passwords. This is frustrating, as well as, upsetting.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,231
    If you want to double check
    there is Sophos Free Virus Removal Tool
    http://downloads.sophos.com/tools/wi...val%20Tool.exe


    or if that doesn't down load for some reason, ESET Online Scanner
    https://www.eset.com/us/home/online-scanner/
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  9. #24
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Midknyte, you were correct. You can run UBlock Origin in incognito mode. I noticed there is an setting that one can check to allow it to run in that mode by going to chrome://entensions. Thanks.

    Train, I installed and ran Sophos and performed a complete scan and it said that it did not find any threats.

    Am I being more worried than I should be regarding this patch file that was on my system?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,950
    If none of your scans found anything, you are probably OK. You should still keep an eye on activity on your various accounts, but you should be doing that anyway.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,231
    jdc2000 has the right of it.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  12. #27
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Midknyte, JDC2000, and Train, thanks for the help. It always is greatly appreciated.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •