Firefox patch virus?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Firefox patch virus?

  1. #1
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435

    Firefox patch virus?

    A few days ago while I was using firefox, another tab window opened stating "critical firefox update" and a popup window appeared asking to download "firefox-patch.js" and not thinking I downloaded it. I just received another one today but I didn't download this one. I just realized that these firefox patches are not updates pertaining to firefox and are potential viruses. Has my laptop been at risk since I downloaded the first patch about 2 days ago?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,949
    Did the JavaScript "patch" run after you downloaded it?

    If you still have the downloaded file, upload it to VirusTotal to see if it is recognized.

    I'd say it is time to make sure that your antivirus software has the latest update and run a full scan. After that, if you don't already have the free version installed, install MalwareBytes, update it, and run a full scan with that also.

  3. #3
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Hi JDC2000. How do I upload it to VirusTotal?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,949
    Follow the instructions at the link below:

    https://www.virustotal.com/

    Click on the Choose File button to select the file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,160
    Firefox-patch.js
    That's not how Mozilla releases updates. More likely than not, it's a malware popup. If you didn't run the javascript (.js), you're probably ok. Isn't this the laptop you're going to return?

    I've recommended uBlock Origin adblocker many times on this forum. I highly advise you install it, if you're seeing popups like that.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/fir...ublock-origin/

  6. #6
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    When I tried to upload the file, it said that I didn't have permission to open this file. I just started using windows 10 and I didn't think I had my OS set as administrator. How can I disable the administrator feature since I am the only one using this laptop?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,160
    If you're the only user, you can't "disable" administrator rights. Otherwise, you wouldn't be able to do things like install applications.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,949
    That is already a bad sign that the .js file is malware. At this point, I'd skip the upload and run some scans. If they don't flag the file as malware and remove it, post back and let us know.

    If you changed your user account to an Administrator account now, or enabled the built-in Administrator account, that might enable any malware to gain more rights. Run scans with your antivirus software and MalwareBytes. Save the logs in case this ends up in Broni's Intensive Care Unit forum.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,160
    Again, is this the laptop you are going to return to Dell? You can run a MBAM scan, but it doesn't seem worth the effort to go through the ICU process.

  10. #10
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    The firefox-patch.js is a shortcut file and when I tried to upload it using virustotal, it said file not found. I ran Malwarebutes and it said treats detected and threats quarantined was 0. I ran Avast Smart Scan and it no viruses found, no vulnerable software found, no bad browsers add-ons found but, said it found 3 issues (a conflicting anti-virus, issues on my network, and performance issues found.

    I did notice the past few days that when I would being using firefox and chrome at the same time, chrome would freeze up where I would have to close it and it would freeze up my internet where I could surf the web on firefox. Then I would click task manager and go to the details section, I would notice about 6 chrome.exe listings. I would right click on them and close them out. I would reboot and open firefox again and then my connection was fine and I could surf the web again. This occurs after using chrome for awhile.

    It shows that I am administrator and that is how I configured it when I first began using my laptop. I am not sure why it gave that message when I tried to upload firefox-patch.js shortcut file.

    Midknyte, thank you for that UBlock add-on link. I apreicate it. I just installed it. Yes, it is the laptop that I am going to return but I want to make sure that I was vulnerable since I downloaded that firefox-patch.js file.

  11. #11
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    I want to correct a line in my previous post.

    It should read: I did notice the past few days that when I would be using firefox and chrome at the same time, chrome would freeze up where I would have to close it and it would freeze up my internet where I "COULDN'T" surf the web on firefox.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,949
    It shows that I am administrator and that is how I configured it when I first began using my laptop. I am not sure why it gave that message when I tried to upload firefox-patch.js shortcut file.
    It gave you that message because the malware programmers don't want you messing with their malware.

    If you are returning this system, removing malware at this point would be a waste of time. You only concern would be if you have data on the system that is valuable to hackers, or if they have collected user credentials while you were using the system.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,160
    Multiple listings of chrome.exe are normal; it creates a separate process for each tab, extension, etc. Chrome is a known memory hog too. If you aren't running an adblocker, it's even worse.

    If you don't have the actual .js file, then you can't upload it. There's no point in scanning shorcut .lnk files.

  14. #14
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    JDC2000, what do you mean "....collected user credentials while you were using the system?" Should I be concerned? The most personal info I had on this laptop because I didn't finish transferring all my files over from my old drive is that I had my name and address on a document file. Should I be concerned about that?

    Midknyte, I wasn't aware that chrome creates a separate process for each tab and extension. I was really concerned when I noticed those multiple listings in task manager. Do you know a good adblocker to use on chrome? Shouldn't I be as worried/concerned since it appears that I only have a shortcut of the "firefox-patch.js" file and not the actual file?

  15. #15
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Should I click "resolve all" after running Avast Smart scan?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •