Startupmonitor
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Startupmonitor

  1. #1
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,457

    Startupmonitor

    I always used startupmonitor on my pc that was recommended in here. I was using win xp pro. I will now be using win 10 home for the first time. Can Startupmonitor be used on win 10? Is this program still a good program to use or has something better come along since then?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,403
    Not really needed.
    Open task manager, and select the startup tab.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #3
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,457
    A popup window appears asking if you want to an executable file to run at startup with startupmonitor. It prevents your startup from getting cluttered with unnecessary junk. I hadn't used win 10 yet. Win XP has a task manager but it doesn't have a startup tab. Is the task manager different in win 10 vs. win xp? Does the startup in task manager in win 10 perform similar to startupmonitor? Is startupmonitor not really needed it win 10 compared to win xp and previous OS versions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,316
    Is the task manager different in win 10 vs. win xp?
    YES. Win10 has startup controls similar to msconfig.

    Windows Vista and up have UAC (User Account Control). It will prompt you if administrator level changes are being made.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_Account_Control

    I don't think you need Startupmonitor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,403
    Yes it has changed. Basic tutorial on task manager
    http://www.howtogeek.com/108742/how-...-in-windows-8/
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #6
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,457
    I don't have a startup tab in the task manager.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,316
    Did you click on "More Details"?

  8. #8
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,457
    I see it now. Thanks. Is there anything that needs to be enabled in the startup when you first boot into windows?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,316
    Hard to say without seeing what programs you have running. I wouldn't touch any driver stuff, like audio, touchpad, etc.

    If you're not sure, do a search to see what the process does.
    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_search.php

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,403
    This is what I have running.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •