? about Internet Explorer 10 the Edge
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: ? about Internet Explorer 10 the Edge

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,522

    ? about Internet Explorer 10 the Edge

    Just a curious question.
    Using IE10 with the O/S Windows 10.
    Whenever I have IE open and another browser open (FF, Chrome, Opera, etc.) IE is unwieldy. It's sluggish, slows down, and impossible to scroll through screens. But if I close out the other browser, IE acts more stable.

    Is this my imagination, or is the browser that poor in performance?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    IE 8 drove me to Firefox. and reading things like
    Is this my imagination, or is the browser that poor in performance?
    makes me glad I gave up on IE.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    21,325
    Windows 10 comes with both IE11 and MS Edge.

    I don't have any issues wit either one... Which one s giving you grief?
    "They say "don't try this at home" so I'm coming over to your house to try it."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,522
    How can I find the version IE that I have. I assume it's 10, but I can't find anything in properties. It was downloaded with Win10.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    There is no way you have IE10 on Windows 10; it only came with IE11.

    If anything, having 2 browsers open consumes resources. Look at Task Manager to see how much CPU/RAM the browser processes are using.

    Is this the same computer that has given you browser problems before? Did you upgrade to Win10 from Win7 or 8/8.1?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    Open IE
    Hit the Alt tab and the menu, top left will open , open help and select about.
    All the browser I have dealt with , that will give you the browser information.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,522
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    There is no way you have IE10 on Windows 10; it only came with IE11.

    If anything, having 2 browsers open consumes resources. Look at Task Manager to see how much CPU/RAM the browser processes are using.

    Is this the same computer that has given you browser problems before? Did you upgrade to Win10 from Win7 or 8/8.1?
    Yes to the computer with browser problems. I'm OK using Maxthon and FF. But there's ONE website where I can ONLY use IE (Don't ask) and that's where the problem comes in.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,522
    Quote Originally Posted by Train View Post
    Open IE
    Hit the Alt tab and the menu, top left will open , open help and select about.
    All the browser I have dealt with , that will give you the browser information.
    It's Explorer 11. I guess that's the EDGE?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    No, that is not edge as with edge , I can not bring up the Menu part.
    You have IE 11.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,522
    * confused * What's the Edge compared to IE11?
    Maybe I need more Ram....I can't figure out why the browser is sluggish and stalls when I have another browser open.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    Edge in my book is worthless. Sorry, but that is as nice as I can be about it.

    Win 10 will work with 2 GB of ram. But 6 GB is what I think should be the minimum.

    Right click on "Start Menu" and click on "System" in pop-up menu to open "System" window.



    And check installed Memory (RAM) as shown in this graphic.

    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,522
    4 MB of Ram.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,324
    Can you post the make and model of that computer?
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,092
    IE11EdgeLogos.png

    Microsoft really wants you to use Edge, but unfortunately Edge isn't really worth using. However, to get you to use Edge, Microsoft has made the icon very similar.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •