Flash Player update - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: Flash Player update

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    The built-in version of Pepperflash in Chrome49 is outdated. You would have had to disable the built-in Flash and installed Adobe Flash.

    It's getting close to 3 years since Microsoft dropped XP support, so it's just going to get worse and worse.

  2. #17
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    Do I disable it from chrome://plugins?

    Which flash player would I need to install?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    Disable PepperFlash in Chrome: http://www.enounce.com/chrome-disable-pepperflash

    The plugin version of Adobe Flash would be the same for both Chrome and Firefox, though.
    Again, it's the same Adobe Flash that Firefox uses. If you can't get it to work with Firefox, it probably won't work in Chrome either.

  4. #19
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    I don't see a Pepperflash listing in plugins. I do see an Adobe flash player listing. I am not sure how adobe flash was installed on chrome. So, I guess since there is an adobe flash listed, it must be installed. I guess it doesn't work. Ugh.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    Hmm, looks like they changed to Adobe Flash at some point. I don't have Chrome 49, since I don't run XP on any of my systems (except for test VMs).

    In any case, both Chrome and Firefox use plugin-based Flash.

    This is exactly my point about wasting time trying to fix software. There was definitely a hardware issue, so you might just need to reload Windows.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,290
    Quote Originally Posted by JLS View Post

    How come I can't view a video in chrome that requires flash player?
    Which video on what page? Maybe there is a problem with the page or video.

    If you go to http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/, (like I did in the above screenshot I made for you), does the red Adobe Flash block bounce around a few times and then settle down? If so, you should also then see the version of Flash you have installed down below the block on the right, (also shown in my screenshot)?

    If that's working, your know your Adobe Flash is working.

  7. #22
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    SpywareDr, when I clicked on your link, I never saw any red flash bock bounce and where that was suppose to occur, it just said "couldn't load plugins." I went to chrome://plugins and it said abobe flash player is v 23.0.0.164.

  8. #23
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    SpywareDr, the video was on the homepage of finance.yahoo.com. Right now there isn't a video news article at the top. It switches articles every so often (some are videos and some are just articles). It is not a problem with the website. I have seen "couldn't load plugins" message on numerous websites.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,290
    Don't know what to tell you. As shown in my screenshot above, it worked for me with Windows XP Pro (with all available updates), Chrome version 49.0.2623.112 m and Flash version 21.0.0.213. (All of this is running in a VM window on my Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit setup).

    You might try Fred Langa's "XP's No-Reformat, Nondestructive Total-Rebuild Option"

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,232
    This system definitely had problems. There is a high possibility that system files were corrupted. However, the user was unable to run actual hardware diagnostics.
    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...705-Boot-issue

    You can try doing a repair install, but if the hardware is bad, you'll just be wasting time.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    17,290
    So true. Fiddling with software cannot fix flaky hardware.

  12. #27
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,435
    I will live without flash until my Dell laptop arrives. Thanks Midknyte and SpywareDr for the help.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •