what is the speed of electricity thru wiring.. ?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: what is the speed of electricity thru wiring.. ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,706

    what is the speed of electricity thru wiring.. ?

    Thought I'd check out the lounge here ... and have a question ..

    My wall switch in our master bedroom has a wall switch at the entrance. which in turns feeds both our outlets ( 120v) so when we enter the room we hit the switch and the bedroom lamps on both sides of the bed come on .. my query is why does one of the lights or lamps take just a split second longer to come on over the other light ..? both lamps are identical and both bulbs are 60w .. ( not sure if the manufacturer of said bulbs are the same though) ....


    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year all ..


    terry
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730/ Windows 10 //chrome-58.0.3029.96 /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional SP3/ /Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit
    4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,231
    One of them a florescent?
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    21,304
    Odds are the wiring goes from the switch to one plug and then on to the other plug.

    Series and parallel circuits
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Series...allel_circuits
    "Common Sense is a flower that doesn't grow in everyone's garden."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,548
    One of them a florescent?
    or LED? Some of both types can have a slight delay when being turned on. I have both in different rooms and about 1 out of 3 or 4 have a noticeable delay.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Coquitlam BC Canada
    Posts
    2,706
    yes both bulbs are LED and the wiring more than likely hits the first wall plug and then carries on 7 feet to the next outlet there fore casing a .25 second delay ..
    Intel (R) Core TM 2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz 2.27 GHz 4.00 GB memory/ HP laptop elitebook 8730/ Windows 10 //chrome-58.0.3029.96 /// dual boot windows 10 & Windows XP Professional SP3/ /Firefox ESR 52.1.0 - 32 bit
    4 GB Memory/ AMD Radeon HD 7700 series Video Card//N68C-GS FX2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core /

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    23,548
    I'd bet if you switched the bulbs the delayed bulb would still be delayed regardless of where it is in the circuit. The electronics inside some bulbs cause it.

    The very first Fluorescent bulb I bought many years ago had about a 1.5 second delay. Drove me crazy especially because it was in a hallway entrance and it didn't come on until I was nearly at the other end of it rendering the hallway light kind of useless. The technology has improved greatly since then but some bulbs still aren't instantaneous.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,231
    Curious, switch the bulbs and see what happens.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •