Firefox and google? - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 54

Thread: Firefox and google?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,136
    Provide the link where you had the "cursor spinning" problem.

    What other addons are you running besides uBlock?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,191
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    Provide the link where you had the "cursor spinning" problem.


    ?
    Had that happen the other day, took the website 78 seconds to load too. Or that could have been caused by a script on the site.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    some where in the great lakes region
    Posts
    2,934
    Quote Originally Posted by Train View Post
    Had that happen the other day, took the website 78 seconds to load too. Or that could have been caused by a script on the site.
    Well here is another wrinkle about the cursor, I was about ready to trash this thing but i found out, the default programs got switched, deselected what ever, i reset them tonight and so far the illness is cured. So if some one wants to add that note to the link i previously posted from that other web site if you are a member there, it may eliminate the escape button and help others with the same hang up cursor spinning pages not loading

    See if it wakes up right tomorrow

    Does Mozilla screw the defaults up on updates? I had not had this issue for ever until last week, and it was bad.

    https://www.google.com/#q=what+is+a+...essage+on+a+pc

    you might changed the wording to firefox

    https://www.google.com/#q=what+is+a+...+with+fire+fox


    If your asking about the link, i googled "what is break point error message on a pc" i was lost after that
    Last edited by egdufwollamhsram1851; November 29th, 2016 at 10:20 PM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,191
    default programs got switched
    uBlock origin should stop the nasties from doing that.

    Adblock Plus, I swear was getting paid to let ad servers through and all it takes is just one of them being hacked to ruin someones day, just like what happened to you. Come to think about it, Midknyte posted about uBlock about the time I got hit and I switched to it.
    I have not had any problems since switching.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,136
    ABP was whitelisting ads for years. But now they have a full blown ad marketplace.

    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...-now-sells-ads

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    some where in the great lakes region
    Posts
    2,934
    Quote Originally Posted by Train View Post
    uBlock origin should stop the nasties from doing that.

    Adblock Plus, I swear was getting paid to let ad servers through and all it takes is just one of them being hacked to ruin someones day, just like what happened to you. Come to think about it, Midknyte posted about uBlock about the time I got hit and I switched to it.
    I have not had any problems since switching.

    Had the same thing just happen on win 7 with ublock all others deleted,, had to reset the defaults a ok , win 8.1 ran great o boot today

    Not sure whats happening

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,136
    It sounds like you have issues with your Firefox profile. Did you reset Firefox? That will load a fresh profile. You'll have to reinstall any addons.

    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-most-problems

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    some where in the great lakes region
    Posts
    2,934
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    It sounds like you have issues with your Firefox profile Did you reset Firefox? That will load a fresh profile. You'll have to reinstall any addons.

    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-most-problems
    yup

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    some where in the great lakes region
    Posts
    2,934
    It appears FF doesn't like addons here except for uB, either win 7 or 8 ,,version 50.0.2

    Did not use to be so problematic even after reset

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,191
    Add ons need updating and ain't been done. uBliock has been. Not Firefox fault.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,136
    Quote Originally Posted by egdufwollamhsram1851 View Post
    It appears FF doesn't like addons here except for uB, either win 7 or 8 ,,version 50.0.2
    You didn't specify which addons you installed after the reset. It just takes one bad addon to mess up Firefox. Same thing with Chrome.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    some where in the great lakes region
    Posts
    2,934
    Quote Originally Posted by Midknyte View Post
    You didn't specify which addons you installed after the reset. It just takes one bad addon to mess up Firefox. Same thing with Chrome.
    Only had 3 , better privacy , deleted, used to use it "LSO" removal, video downloader , not sure which, but high on the list, used to use it, don;t need it any more deleted, both were removed, restart,, only one left is uBlock , Train suggested as i guess you did to him.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,136
    If you are concerned about LSOs, you should just disable them in Flash.
    https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player...al-shared.html

    You didn't say which video downloader you use, but Video DownloadHelper works fine.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...helper/?src=ss

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    some where in the great lakes region
    Posts
    2,934
    Your right i said it was one of the highly recommended ones, i didn't have time to search to answer your famous statement, and i said i did not need either one any more.

    If FF works for me without them, end of story

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,191
    When uBlock does not like something, I see this.

    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •