Restting wifi without a reboot
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Restting wifi without a reboot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    644

    Restting wifi without a reboot

    Hi,

    I have Win 10. Every once in a while my modem/router drops the signal. My computer sometimes will not pick the signal up again until I reboot.

    Instead of a full reboot, is there a way to "reboot" the internet signal on my computer?

    Thanks,
    Don
    Toolman55

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,826
    You could try logging off and back on, although there is no guarantee that this would work.

    If you have not already done so, you may want to get a UPS for your router. That might just eliminate the signal drops.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    I second the UPS recommendation.

    You could try disabling and then re-enabling the wifi card from Device Manager.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,081
    UPS for the modem and router definitely a must.

    And make sure in Device manager, nic, that you uncheck the save power.




    That drove me nuts for a while too.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    644
    Thanks to all. I'm Googling UPS's now.
    Toolman55

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,067
    You didn't tell us the make/model of your system. You may want to look for updated wifi drivers also.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    644
    Thank you MidKnyte. The drivers I've already done. Appreciate your help.
    Toolman55

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,826

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Underwood, Iowa, United States
    Posts
    736
    Wouldn't an ipconfig/release, ipconfig/renew be a possible helpful step if the given advice don't help? Not the easiest to do, but better than a reeboot.
    This thing has more bugs than a big city flop house.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,081
    November 22nd, 2016,
    Kind of dated and the original poster I bet has fixed the problem.

    Note that they had installed stuff and anytime install or uninstall we need to reboot to get the regs right.

    Wouldn't an ipconfig/release, ipconfig/renew be a possible helpful step if the given advice don't help? Not the easiest to do, but better than a reeboot.
    Some times that works. Note the Some times.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •