[RESOLVED] Canon MX 490 "offline" from one computer - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21

Thread: [RESOLVED] Canon MX 490 "offline" from one computer

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,205
    Make sure you can ping the printer BEFORE you add it as local.

    It said that if I was sure of the IP address I should select my device and click "Next," which I did, but the only think I could select was "Canon Network Printer."
    You shouldn't have had to choose any specific printer during the setup. That's probably because you left "Query the printer..." checked. It's strange that you had to use "Have disk" if you already installed the printer drivers before.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    660
    After entering the IP address the process says that it will detect the device. It then comes back and says that it was unable to find the device and says to check four things: that the IP address is correct, the device is turned on, is not disabled, and something else. It says that if I am sure of the IP address to select my device from the list in a dropdown combo box. There are several Canon Network things, and I selected this time "Canon 3xx/4xx Series." It then goes on to selection of drivers as in Step 7, but the MX 490 is not listed, skips from MX 390 to MX 700. So I did the "Have Disk" thing and found the installer on disk. It accepted that and went on to tell me that I "have successfully installed Canon MX 490." Device shows in "Printers and Devices, and is the default, but it "needs troubleshooting," and that the status is "printer error." An attempt to print fails with "printer not responding" error message.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    660
    That's probably because you left "Query the printer..." checked.
    The instructions show that box being checked.

    After using the "Have disk" I dound the installation on the hard drive of the computer.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    15,027
    If the driver installation cannot find the printer, it may be time to quadruple check that the printer has the correct IP address set up.

    Possibly useful links:

    https://support.usa.canon.com/kb/ind...65757&actp=RSS

    http://community.usa.canon.com/t5/Pr...er/td-p/102186

    https://www.manualslib.com/manual/54....html?page=142

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,205
    Ya, I saw they left it checked. But it's still odd that it found "Canon network printer". You would expect it to find MX490.

    Maybe you should completely uninstall and reinstall the printer software.
    Revo or Geek Uninstaller should do the trick.
    http://www.geekuninstaller.com/
    http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_..._download.html

    And you got the latest drivers and software from the Canon site?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    660
    Well none of that changed anything. Got it back to the final status reached last time, printing from my desktop, "printer not responding" from my wife's laptop.

    Connected the printer to the laptop via USB cable, removed MX490 (Copy 1) device which was created by the addition of the TCP/IP port, and made the MX 490 default, and it is now printing from the laptop as well as from my desktop. That doesn't answer the question as to why it will not print via WiFi from the laptop, but the question is no longer of anything more than academic interest since it is now printing from both computers.

    Thanks for all your efforts. Marking thread as "resolved" even though in some respects it is not. In all respects that matter it is resolved.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •