Wireless Backup
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Wireless Backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    643

    Wireless Backup

    Hello,

    I wanted the simplest way to share files and do back ups. I was going to get a good size external hdd and hook it into the USB port on my Time Warner wireless modem.

    Turns out, the USB port on these modems is a power port only.

    Could anyone suggest the easiest way to do this? The fewest devices, wires, etc. I really need it to be small, if possible.

    Any suggestions that you have would be appreciated. Thank you.

    Don
    Toolman55

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,734
    Post the make and model of the wireless modem.

    If it has a spare Ethernet port, you might be able to connect something to that.

    It would also help if you specified what types of devices (and Operating Systems that they use) that you want to connect to your backup device.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    643
    Sorry for the lack of detail.
    The modem is a Ubee 2.0. It does have 3 open Ethernet ports. The wired desktop is Win 7. There is a wireless desktop (Win 10), and 2 laptops (1=Win 10, 1=Linux Mint.).

    Thanks for your help.
    Toolman55

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,007
    Double-check the model number. Ubee is the manufacturer, but 2.0 is probably the DOCSIS standard it uses. The model number would be more like U10C018.

    How much are you planning to spend? How many TB of storage do you need?

    You could look at a NAS (network attached storage) drive. Something like this:
    http://www.wdc.com/en/products/personalcloud/consumer/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    643
    I was hoping no more than $150, but that may be unrealistic. I has checked your link and some others like it. I've always had great performance from WD. I would feel most comfortable with them. Maybe 2 TB.
    Toolman55

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,007
    The 2TB drive would be pretty close to your budget.
    http://www.cnet.com/products/wd-my-cloud/

    You still didn't provide your modem model number. If it's a DOCSIS 2.0, TWC might notify you to replace it with a DOCSIS 3.0 modem soon.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,013
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,007
    Pretty sure TWC rolled out DOCSIS 3.0 to NY before the buyout.

    I would put my money towards buying a new modem first, since there is a significant performance increase going from 2.0 to 3.0.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    643
    A new one is on the way. I'm going to get it working and make sure of its capabilities before making a decision.

    Thank you all for your help.
    Toolman55

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,007
    What is the make/model of the new modem? Is the modem from TWC or did you buy your own?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    643
    It is a Tim Warner unit. I don't know what they are sending me. I just know I've been "upgraded". I even called tech support but they could not tell me.
    Toolman55

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,007
    Ah. You'd be better off buying your own modem and save on the monthly lease fee. It would eventually pay for itself. You could get a combo modem/router, but I prefer separate units.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    643
    I'm on the fence about switching to FIOS. If I do I will purchase o out of the gate.
    Toolman55

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •