Epson V500 and Windows 10
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Epson V500 and Windows 10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,773

    Epson V500 and Windows 10

    Not mine. This question is for a friend of mine and since I do not use Windows 10. I helped him get the drivers/software for his Windows 10 computer and helped him get it installed. However he says after he runs one scan then changes the type of film he wants to scan, the software freezes.

    Anyone have an idea what's going on?

    He tried the original CD which had drivers for Windows 7, and compatibility mode but he said that didn't work.

    For Windows 10 users, can one still run sfc /scannow?
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- DS3P Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me, in 2016!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,138
    I googled "epson v500 windows 10 problems" and found this:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...50dc15d?auth=1

    I went into settings, scanners & Printers, searched on scanners and looked at setting. I noted that the settings for the Epson did not have a Profile (whatever that is) so I created one. That solved the problem and now my scanner works.
    For Windows 10 users, can one still run sfc /scannow?
    Yup, you can.
    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,773
    I got more information from him. He said that when he uninstalled the old drivers it left his settings and profile settings even after he installed the new Windows 10 software/drivers.

    The software is only partially working. He said if he changes the type of film to scan, the software freezes up. So, it's not a problem that the software isn't showing or opening, it is just freezing.

    What's the best uninstaller now? I used Revo uninstaller before but I thought you guys found a better one.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- DS3P Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me, in 2016!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,138
    I use Geek Uninstaller. The free version of Revo only works on 32-bit apps.

    http://www.geekuninstaller.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,773
    I gave him IOBit instead.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- DS3P Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me, in 2016!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,773
    I don't know why I thought you all used IOBit... Thanks for the link and name of geek uninstaller. I don't need one yet as I don't install things that I need to uninstall.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- DS3P Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me, in 2016!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,138
    Looks like Revo Free just added 64-bit support. Like TODAY. Good timing.

    http://www.ghacks.net/2016/08/04/rev...4-bit-support/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,195
    My V-500 is working fine, but I did not uninstall the other scanner either.

    Thanks for the Geek link.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,773
    Since he is in Germany, I'll probably not hear from him until tomorrow. I told him to use IOBit after he uninstalls the software then run IOBit to clean out the left overs, then reboot and reinstall the new Windows 10 drivers and software.

    And Yes, I went to Epson's Germany site to give him a link to the new drivers/software in his language.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- DS3P Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me, in 2016!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,195
    Geek LOL
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    22,773
    Geek LOL
    ..........
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- DS3P Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 16GB Memory; Kingston 240GB SSD; WD 320GB SATA; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Nine Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me, in 2016!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc
    My photos

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •