MBP Time machine - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25

Thread: MBP Time machine

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,013
    Should not, but you have to jumper the power supply to turn it on.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    10,007
    Won't that much power supply fry the HDDs since it won't be powering up a motherboard together with the HDDs anymore?
    The power lines going to the HD would only provide the 12v/5v lines for the hard drive (plus 3.3v for SATA). It's not going to fry anything.

    I've read mobos regulate how much power HDDs get.
    Nope, that's wrong. How is the motherboard going to regulate HD power if they are plugged directly into the PSU? Show me the link you read.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    187
    Train- yes, I saw the paperclip thing for the green-black wire to jump it. In any case, I'm not really doing it, I just wanted to understand how it worked and file it in my head for emergency purposes.

    Midknyte- I can't find the page anymore, I was clicking link after link... perhaps "controls power supply" was referring to the PSU actually turning on rather than regulate.

    Thanks again, learned a lot from this thread.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    187
    Train, two quick tangent questions on backups (since this is a thread on TM):

    a. I was given a flash drive with an image (dmg/iso) of an OS X upgrade installer. I want to keep a copy of the installer for future use, do I simply copy paste the content to my external hard drive without using any program to "burn" it? I've been searching online and answers only seem to address how to copy an image from hard drive to bootable usb/disc.

    b. when imaging a drive (using Super Duper) that can be restorable should an OS upgrade installation go wrong, does that require imaging the entire physical HDD or it's possible to image only one of 2 allocated drives in the HDD which actually contains data (2nd half has zero data)?

    Thanks!

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,013
    You have to use a program as there are things on the stick that are hidden that allow the stick to be bootable.
    Now if you browse the stick and select setup (or what ever Mac calls it) then YES, I would try the copy / paste method of backing up.

    Daughter used my wireless to upgrade her MAC laptop, at that time mine was faster than hers.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    187
    Thanks, Train.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    187
    Sorry for the questions coming in trickles-- I was looking for solutions for the crowding of usb plugs as my laptop can only handle 2 at a time. I didn't realize such a thing existed:

    https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-4-Por...words=usb+dock

    Instead of buying an HDD enclosure with its own power supply, if I get only a SATA to USB cable for my internal HDD, can this gadget above be enough to power it so I can use it as a spare external drive for my laptop?

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,013
    You want something like this.
    https://www.amazon.com/Anker-4-Port-...b+powered+hubs

    Computer USB ports combined, only have 500 mA of power. That is enough to run a laptop hdd, but not a desktop hdd.
    This hub has enough power to run 4 laptop hdds at a time.

    So, as you have desktop hdds mostly the powered external case is what you need.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    187
    Ah, so I still go with the external case. Got it. Thanks again, Train.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,013
    You are Welcome.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •