[RESOLVED] Toshiba won't turn on - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: [RESOLVED] Toshiba won't turn on

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    237
    Thanks, Train - should I give a go with the recovery discs in?
    Smokyieus

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    14,826
    That does sound like the backlight on the screen is bad. The only other alternative would be if the computer is set to use an external screen only. There should be a key combination that selects the display output device, usually Fn + F5 on Toshibas.

    Possibly useful link for the "personalized settings not responding" error:

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...d59fc53?auth=1

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    237
    I don't think it can be set for external screen only as a few days ago it was running windows fine. Can't try any options as I can't see anything right now.
    Smokyieus

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,098
    Fn+F4 triggers external on and off on this Toshiba E45W. Shows Laptop/Monitor on the key.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,098
    Win 8.1 factory recovery disk should have that option.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    237
    No response with those keys and tried the recovery discs - nothing will show up on either computer or tv.

    Guess that's it.

    Thanks for all the responses and trying to figure it out.
    Smokyieus

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,098
    Sorry! Best I could do.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    237
    I know! Thanks, I'll close the thread now.
    Smokyieus

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    237

    Related to Toshiba not booting Up

    My satellite Toshiba is acting about the same as the one I posted about a few weeks ago.

    When I turn it on the Toshiba logo will flash and go off - I can hit the power button 20 times and it still clicks off. Sometimes I can get as far as the sign in screen and then it just spins and screen goes black.

    Hooked it to a tv and that made no difference.

    It DID come on yesterday so I left it in sleep mode all night and it was working this morning.

    Is this some sort of flaw in these laptops?

    I am done with Toshibas now - it's a little over 3 years old. - just ordered a Lenovo.
    Smokyieus

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    53,098
    My 10 year old satellite is still working , but as it is a Linux BETA testing rig, it does not get used much.

    Usually get a new Toshiba every 3 or 4 years. $500 - $600 range.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

    AntiX-16, MX-16 and Win 10

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    473
    I know you've closed this thread but, in the future you can point a Flashlight at the Laptops Monitor to see if it's working.
    If you can see the Windows Login Screen with the flashlight, chances are your Backlight is burn out. The Backlights can be replaced but most people just change out the Whole Screen. I've replaced a few Backlights and they can be a PITA but is well worth the savings.

    BTW, is there a VGA Connection on this Laptop. If so I'd try hooking the Laptop up to an External Monitor or TV with a VGA connection (some TV's offer VGA Connections).
    The Manual at the Toshiba Website was just too Generic, It Said the VGA was: Available on Some Models!
    I've had situations where the HDMI Connection didn't work but the VGA did!
    Last edited by bugspop1; August 21st, 2016 at 11:45 PM.

    Acer Aspire V5 573P-6896 ultraslim Laptop
    Intel Core i5-4200u 1.6GHz - 2.6GHz
    12gb G. Skill DDR3 RAM
    256gb Crucial M550 mSATA SSD Drive (Operating System and Office Package)
    500gb WD Black Hard Drive 7200rpm (Storage)
    Intel HD Graphics 4400
    15.6" FHD ultraslim IPS Touchscreen
    Atheros Qualcomm WiFi a/b/g/n/ + BT 4.0
    USB 2 x 2.0 - USB 1 x 3.0
    SD Card Reader
    Lighted Keyboard
    Webcam/Microphone
    Windows 10 Home
    Brother MFC-9440cn AIO
    Brother MFC-845cw AIO
    Brother QL-570 Label Printer

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    237
    Thanks for that information, Bugspop1.

    Yes, there is VGA on my model but I don't have that kind of a cable. Tried it with an HDMI and can't see anything at all.

    Just tried the flashlight on the screen and cannot see anything.

    It was actually booting up well lately but being it's Monday morning, now it's not!
    Smokyieus

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •