Windows Store - Get Apps from it or go somewhere for the same 'app'

Thread: Windows Store - Get Apps from it or go somewhere for the same 'app'

Windows Store - Get Apps from it or go somewhere for the same 'app'

First, please excuse my ignorance for asking questions for which the answer might be fairly obvious for the 'experienced'. I am brand new to Win 8 - I just bought an HP Envy Desktop that comes with Win 8 (and hopefully, I had upgraded to Win 8.1 successfully, as reported at the end of the upgrade by the HP Desktop).

Questions:

a) I went into the Windows Store and saw some Anti-Virus protection software there, for instance (I know one should not install more than one of these in the same machine). There, they said they are 'free'. But once I got them installed: Oh yeah, the download is free, and they only would come up a free-trial period of say, 30 days. After that, PAY for the one-year license, of course.
    Now, compare this approach of getting software to going directly to the software manufacturers' websites, and get the 'truthfully' free version.
    Q: Is going to the manufacturer's website approach to get software possible with Win 8/Win 8.1 ?
    Q: Are these apps from the Windows Store different from those offered in the same manufacturer's websites for Win 8/8.1 ?
    Q: If I got the 'app' installed, and later uninstalled it (for instance, Antii-Virus software), could a 'truthfully' free version be installed afterwards ? (Could Win 8/Win 8.1 come up and say "AH HA, NO WAY. PAY UP !!!).

b) With Desktops/Notebooks coming from companies such as Dell, HP, Gateway, there are always some software/apps they bundled in their pre-installed Win 8. Some of them are useful. Some of them may not be the most desirable thing at all (I can respect that everyone may have their own opinion on anything in this day and age).