System Idle Process using 90% of CPU
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: System Idle Process using 90% of CPU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    chevy chase, md, usa
    Posts
    1,342

    System Idle Process using 90% of CPU

    Frequently my XP desktop is barely responsive (example: I can’t mark Yahoo email messages for deletion). When I check Task Manager, I see only one process active, Sytsem Idle Process, using between 80 to 99% of my CPU.

    What is causing that? How can I reduce that usage? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,888
    Have you run Antivirus and Malware scans?
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Rosario - Santa Fé - Argentina
    Posts
    599
    Sytsem Idle Process, using between 80 to 99% of your CPU is absolutely normal, not so being unable to mark Yahoo email messages for deletion.
    Last edited by Ricardo Dávidow; June 15th, 2013 at 07:46 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,716
    I agree with Ricardo. When you see "System Idle Process > CPU" at say "99%", that means everything currently running on your computer is only using 1% of your CPU.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    chevy chase, md, usa
    Posts
    1,342
    Thanks all. my AVG showed I am clean. But MalwareBytes showed some 50 infections. Cleaned out the 50.But system continues to run very slowly, even slower than before.

    Suggestions?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    At my computer, cruising VDR and watching your back
    Posts
    21,814
    I suggest you need to follow the instructions from the link below:

    http://discussions.virtualdr.com/sho...ted-4-28-2013)

    It' possible you're still infected and malwarebytes though good doesn't find and fix everything.
    New 8 core
    Gigabyte GA-970A- D3 Full ATX Motherboard;AMD FX 8120 3.1Ghz; Corsair Vengeance 8GB Memory; 60GB SSD; 1 TB WD; Geforce GT610 1GB Vid card; Windows 7 Professional 64 bit; Antec Three Hundred Mid tower

    Built by Me!!


    UBCD How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    chevy chase, md, usa
    Posts
    1,342
    I'm baffled about this new development, almost hesitant to report it. Maybe it will make sense to you.

    My pc continued to be: 1) fully responsive in WORD 2003; but 2) almost completely unresponsive in working the internet. But, -- all of a sudden, without me doing anything -- after 36 hours just sitting there, it is now fully responsive in working email and the internet. Whatever might be going on?.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,713
    Your guess is as good as anyones

    I wouldn't worry about it unless it happens again.
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."

    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,716

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •