MSconfig
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MSconfig

  1. #1
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,862

    MSconfig

    In msconfig under startup, I have a listing in there that is blank under the startup item column and the command column. Does that mean nothing pertaining to this entry in startup is running even though the box is checked next to it? How can I tell how it got in my startup?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    6,971
    Can you post a screenshot?

    Is the entire line blank? If so, I'd probably uncheck it to be safe. You should probably do a malware scan as well.

    If you know how to use regedit, you can see the checked msconfig entries in the registry at:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

  3. #3
    JLS is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,862
    Midknyte, I appreciate the help. I attached a copy of the startup in msconfig. I went into regedit to the entry that you posted and I see " HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run " listed. How from there can I see what is running?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    6,971
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run lists all the checked entries in MSConfig. You need to look for the one that is blank and see if there is more info. If it's all blank in regedit, then it's hard to say what it is.

    Like I said before, just uncheck it. A blank entry seems suspicious to me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    6,971
    This might explain it clearer. They say to delete the entry, but I'm a little more cautious. I'd uncheck it first. If everything works ok, then delete. Again, there is always the chance of malware.

    http://ask-leo.com/why_is_there_a_bl...p_entries.html
    http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/itd...tartup-tab/887

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,458
    JLS--Your msconfig|Startup tab is missing a column of information compared to mine. The column is Manufacturer. Knowing that would help.
    Can you slide the existing three columns around to see if that fourth column is off screen?
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Arkham Asylum, Cell 13
    Posts
    6,971
    There is no manufacturer column in msconfig for XP.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    20,794
    I suggest you leave "msconfig" alone.
    You can investigate in much safer way using "Autoruns" where all "msconfig" entries are listed.

    Download Autoruns for Windows: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb963902.aspx
    No installation required.
    Simply unzip Autoruns.zip file, and double click on autoruns.exe file to run the program.
    Go File>Save, and save it as AutoRuns.txt file to know location.
    You must select Text from drop-down menu as a file type:



    Attach the file to your next reply.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •