Site is slow again - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: Site is slow again

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    20,970
    The above took 43 seconds (!)

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,878

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,878
    VirtualDr, HardwareCentral and WinDrivers were stuck _at the same time_ for well over a minute.

    All three finally came up _at the same time_. This isn't the first time I've seen this either.

    Leads one to believe they all reside on the same "server"? (An Intel Atom nettop with 1GB of RAM in someone's basement connected via residential DSL?)

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,748
    I was on the phone with one of the Editors this morning. We both experienced the one minute delay at a Sister site... REPORTED.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    20,970
    testing

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,518
    A few minutes ago it was very, very slow. Now it is just the usual 7-10 seconds to go from one page to another.
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,748
    The folks upstairs are monitoring the situation. It has been suggested that they add another server "again" to the database side of things.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Out of NoWhere
    Posts
    3,284
    Not trying to be mean but it is really bad for a technology/computer site to have such a nagging problem.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    20,970
    I must say things are getting worse AGAIN.
    Navigating, searching and posting takes a long time.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Out of NoWhere
    Posts
    3,284
    So, Steve, have the management found out what the problem is? I ask b/c it's still happening every so often, like right now.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,748
    If they knew what the problem was - we wouldn't have it

    Luckily, one of the brass hats was attempting to work on a long thread at a sister sites and had all sorts of issues... He's using buzz words like "first hand user experience is worse than poor" in his communications.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,907
    Yup, been having lots of problems lately. Super slow, can't connect, "Data Base" errors. This site is consistently inconsistent.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,518
    Yup!
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,748
    The site has been screaming fast this morning. Post away while you can

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Out of NoWhere
    Posts
    3,284
    Yes, it is ... just hope that it is going to stay this way.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •