[RESOLVED] Event viewer showing errors and warnings???
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: [RESOLVED] Event viewer showing errors and warnings???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Event viewer showing errors and warnings???

    I was checking my event viewer and found some errors. They are from yesterday and today. I don't know anything about these or how they occurred but what I can tell you is that I installed a new combo modem/router to my computer. Everything is working fine, I think. I am running windows 7 64 bit, 500 gb harddrive and 8 gb of memory. What is causing these errors and warnings? Here is a list of what I found:

    Error 12/24/2012 7:47:28 AM SideBySide 33 None
    Warning 12/24/2012 7:01:44 AM DNS Client Events 1014 None
    Warning 12/24/2012 6:57:10 AM Kernel-PnP 219 (212)
    Error 12/24/2012 6:57:08 AM PrintService 315 Sharing a printer
    Error 12/24/2012 6:57:08 AM PrintService 315 Sharing a printer
    Error 12/24/2012 6:57:08 AM Service Control Manager 7009 None
    Error 12/23/2012 11:06:06 PM DistributedCOM 10010 None
    Error 12/23/2012 8:50:48 PM Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Warning 12/23/2012 8:50:48 PM Kernel-EventTracing 4 Logging
    Warning 12/23/2012 8:25:56 PM DNS Client Events 1014 None
    Error 12/23/2012 6:16:41 PM Service Control Manager 7031 None
    Error 12/23/2012 6:16:40 PM McLogEvent 5051 None
    Error 12/23/2012 6:13:03 PM Disk 11 None
    Error 12/23/2012 6:13:03 PM Disk 11 None
    Warning 12/23/2012 6:05:27 PM Kernel-PnP 219 (212)
    Error 12/23/2012 6:05:25 PM Service Control Manager 7009 None
    Error 12/23/2012 6:04:56 PM PrintService 315 Sharing a printer
    Error 12/23/2012 6:04:56 PM PrintService 315 Sharing a printer
    Error 12/23/2012 6:03:53 PM DistributedCOM 10010 None

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Posts
    14,474
    imanetter2--
    You say "Everything is working fine" So why are you looking into Event Viewer?
    If it works, don't fix it.

    However, if you really want to fix the Win 7 installation, run a Repair Install.
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...r-install.html
    Jim
    WIN7 Ultimate SP1 64bit, IE 11, NTFS,
    cable, MS Security Essentials, Windows 7 firewall

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495
    I actually had a friend help me in trying to change my printer installation from a usb connection to a wireless connection. They were going through my computer to try to find out why I was having trouble doing this. They actually came across this and I was curious on what is causing all these errors and warnings. My question is - are these any cause for concern? Am I causing these problems and if so, what am I doing to cause them? I just re-installed windows on December 7th and was wondering if I am headed for trouble with this happening.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,013
    My event veiwer looks a lot worse. Just good old windows does things like that. JMHO
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,788
    It should give you a description in the event viewer. For example: http://forums.techguy.org/7401912-post10.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495
    I am getting worried about these errors and warnings in the event viewer as I am experiencing a problem. I went to play the solitaire game that is installed in windows and the cards just appear. Before, they would actually deal out the cards graphically. I unchecked the mark in the "turn windows features on and off" area, then rechecked it but it still is the same. Something is wrong. Every day I am getting more and more errors and warnings. I have never had so much trouble after a reinstall as I am having now. How can I fix the game so it works right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,013
    Have you run a hdd diagnostic yet?

    As my first guess from seeing post is the hdd is more than likely going bad.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495
    Is this what you're talking about? I downloaded this test since I couldn't find a diagnostic test on my Gateway computer.




    Untitled 12.jpg
    Last edited by imanetter2; December 30th, 2012 at 06:53 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,013
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495
    I've got the HGST test window open, clicked scan and nothing is happening. I followed the instructions but the box that opened isn't doing anything.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,013
    Maybe you antivirus stopped it dead in its tracks. Seen that happen.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495
    I have tried the HGST program again, this time turning my antivirus off and it still will not work. Even when I click on the help button, a box opens with nothing is in it. All the other buttons simply will not work. I can't understand why I am having problems with a re-installation. It was up and working fine and slowly started acting up. Something is wrong but I am hesitating to re-install since I know that everything went fine with this install. I fear it happening again. Someone told me that I need to put windows vista in first, then the upgrade over it. I did that before and I got problems with programs that are in vista that will cause problems in 7. I was also told to put the windows 7 upgrade in again but first format the harddrive. I do not get a choice when I start the installation to format the harddrive. My head is spinning because I simply do not know what to do to fix my eratic system. When my virus program runs a scan, it never finds anything. What can be going on and how can I fix this? I am so frustrated.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,568
    I think it may be time to run some hard drive and memory tests from a bootable CD. The Ultimate Boot CD has those on it. SeaTools should work to test your drive.

    http://www.ultimatebootcd.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Romeoville, Illinois
    Posts
    495
    I went to download ultimatebootcd but my antivirus program gave me a warning that it was detected that the download is full of viruses and trojans. This morning when I ran superantispyware, it found a trojan.agent/gen-installbrain on my computer and removed it. It came from something called pcp_conduit_setup.exe. I don't know what that is. The last download I did was the WinDFT. I do not ever click on links that I know nothing about. I just don't understand how these things get into my computer. Why isn't my antivirus stopping this from happening by warning me about trojans all the time?....Another description I can give you about my problem is when I open up anything like my browser or links etc, they pop open in a second, which I find strange as that has never happened even on a new computer with a fresh operating system on it. It just opens the page super fast but still takes time to find the webpage. I still have the problem with the solitaire game as it too, pops up fast with the cards already loaded. It is suppose to open and then it deals the cards out for the game. If I click on "new game", it just shows new cards already dealt out. I really don't know what hapened to this re-install. I really wanted to format the harddrive before installing only the windows 7 upgrade as I was told that process would erase any signs of windows vista, but formatting was never offered to me through the install process. Could that be the problem?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,568
    Try this link for the Ultimate Boot CD:

    http://ubcd.sourceforge.net/download.html

    If you have a hardware issue, that would need to be resolved before anytning else would work properly.

    How to install Windows 7 and format:

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...e-08003f92bc6d

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...ndows-7-a.html

    http://www.google.com/#hl=en&sugexp=...w=1112&bih=780

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •