Cloning Win 3.11 hard drive
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cloning Win 3.11 hard drive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7

    Cloning Win 3.11 hard drive

    What is the best way to clone a WIN 3.11 hard drive?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,819
    re you planning on cloning the drive to a new (current) drive? Will it be used as an actual system drive?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7

    Cloning WIN 3.11 Drive

    I need to have a seperate hard drive to run the system in the event that the current hard drive crashes and is not useable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,819
    Win 3.11 is ancient, as you know, and newer drives probably have some issues to consider. These include a new sector size, and most likely the drives are too large for DOS and Win 3.11.

    If you can find a compatible drive, standard drive cloning software should work.

    An alternative, provided you do not need the specific hardware that Win 3.11 is now running on:

    http://www.maximumpc.com/article/how..._31_virtual_pc

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    7
    I have a second hard drive with DOS and WIN 3.11 installed already that I can use, so I know it's compatible with this vintage PC. I want to overwrite everything with an exact bit for bit copy of the original hard drive.

    I need to run a lot of external hardware with all of the drivers and software that is installed on the original hard drive. This is an automated test PC that is running motor control profiles and acquiring data with Metra Byte data acquisition cards. The code is written in C.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,994
    I've used one of these to duplicate dozens of drives, both IDE and SATA.

    StarTech UNIDUPDOCK USB to IDE SATA Standalone Hard Drive Duplicator Dock - $175.99

  7. #7
    HAN's Avatar
    HAN is offline Virtual PC Specialist!!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,137
    I have no idea it will work on such an old machine, but if you can boot from a CD drive, take a look at Clonezilla. http://clonezilla.org/ It's free and for modern gear, very reliable.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •