USB port not responding - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 32

Thread: USB port not responding

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    522
    should I run avast virus scan?
    actually usb's is looong time not working maybe 3 years...if it was a virus something else should had happen....I would look some else...

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,413
    Get your WinXP CD handy, then go to Start>Run and type "sfc /scannow" without the quotes (you don't get any report from the System File Checker, it just silently replaces and corrupt or missing system files that it finds).

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sarasota FL
    Posts
    73
    It says hold down <del> key during startup

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,917
    F8 won't get you to the BIOS. On boot up watch the screen and it should tell you what key to press. Delete and F2 are common.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    522
    runned SFC scan : but still not fixed

    bios check :
    USB devices enabled : NONE
    USB comtroller : USB OHCI+ EHCI
    USB2 controller mode : HI SPEED
    biosEHCI hands off : ENABLED

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    522
    Versione/data BIOS American Megatrends Inc. 0904, 3/24/2006

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,413
    TBH, if the ports haven't worked for 3 years, I don't think there is going to be a quick fix here. I think you are going to need to do a clean re-install of WinXP.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,161
    A clean install may do the trick, but it the ports are damaged, then it will take a new motherboard to fix the problem. Or get a USB PCI/PCI-E type card.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,742
    An add-in card with USB ports is a lot cheaper than an new motherboard and a lot less aggravation that a reinstall of Windows that may not fix the problem.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,917
    Absolutely--I did that at one time and it worked out fine.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    522
    there only is 1 PCIe slot, and of course the VC is in there.
    there is one empty PCI I could use for a USB card though.
    will it be fast enough/

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,742
    For USB 1.1 and USB 2 it will be fast enough.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,949

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    12,742

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    522
    I have anotherMB Asus P4B-M > could be compatible with all I have in my pc and via my slow IT knowledge give it a try ?? doesn' t have a PCIe slot, but has an AGP a CNR and 3 PCI, 3 ram slots (not sure if good for mine)
    thanks

    LGA 775 system
    asus P5RD1
    LGA 775 central processor pentium4 CPU 3.00Ghz
    1 g ram
    firefox 10.0.1
    WXP pro 2d edition
    VC Asus extreme AX300SE/T
    Avast 7.0.1426
    Versione/data BIOSAmerican Megatrends Inc. 0904, 3/24/2006

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •