[RESOLVED] Need New Computer
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: [RESOLVED] Need New Computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Harleysville, Pa. USA
    Posts
    587

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Need New Computer

    Just opened up my old desktop(around 7-8 yrs) and noticed the capacitors were leaking so I'm looking for a new one. I have heard about all-in-ones that just have screen, keyboard, and mouse. Does anyone have any experience with these? Pros - Cons?

    Thank you, Chuck
    Desktop: Dell I620. Win 7 Home Premium
    Laptop 1: Toshiba, Win7 home premium
    Laptop 2: Gateway 3550GZ, Mint 10/CrunchBang 10

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,916
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1998
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    21,168
    One of the main cons is that they are pretty much non-upgradeable. Basically they are laptops without the lap so except for possibly adding more RAM what you get is what it remains. Also, if some internal hardware malfunctions there's no way of replacing or swapping out individual components to get the computer up and running again quickly or even temporarily... you lose the whole thing while it's being repaired.
    Don't believe everything you think.
    _____________________
    animal lovers click here
    and here

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,411
    I'd advise against all in ones, for the same reason Fink stated. They tend to be poor value for money in comparison to a normal desktop too

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Harleysville, Pa. USA
    Posts
    587
    Thank you all for your replies.

    I took your advice and bought a Dell Inspiron I620-4231BK from Staples. Was on sale for $429.00. 1TB hdd, 8gb ram.

    Just a question. I was looking at UBCD that SuperSparks mentions and it says it's compatible with Windows 7 but this came with Home Premium 64bit. Would this work? I don't want to mess anything up. I want to do memtest.

    Thank you, Chuck
    Desktop: Dell I620. Win 7 Home Premium
    Laptop 1: Toshiba, Win7 home premium
    Laptop 2: Gateway 3550GZ, Mint 10/CrunchBang 10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Hyde Park, NY
    Posts
    1,916
    It'll work fine--I've done it.
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 6.0
    AMD Phenom X4 9750 CPU.
    4 Gig DDR2 Memory.
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    ATI HD 5450 PCIe Video
    500 Watt P.S.
    LG W2241T Widescreen 22" LCD
    ViewSonic VA721 17" LCD
    Envision 17" LCD
    2 LG DVD Drives
    Floppy Disk Drive
    Maxtor 120 Gig Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit
    Gateway NV5378-U Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Acer Aspire V3-731 Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    N. Virginia--Wash DC area
    Posts
    10,685
    Was that Windows 7 Home Premium on the machine? If so, no need to bother with putting Professional or Ultimate on it. If Vista, then by all means just replace it with Win 7 Home Premium.
    Last edited by bistro; April 26th, 2012 at 02:18 PM.
    Desktop: Intel i7 960 CPU @ 4.0GHz, EVGA Classified 4-Way SLI mobo, 12GB Corsair Dominator-GT 2000 DDR3 RAM, Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB Solid State Drive, Two WD 2TB SATA drives, 2x EVGA GTX 570 Superclocked graphics cards in SLI, Coolermaster HAF X full tower case, OCZ ZX 1250w PSU, Corsair H100 CPU Cooler
    Laptop: MSI GT60-004US, 2x Seagate Momentus XT 750GB SSD Hybrid drives in RAID 0, 16GB DDR3 1600 RAM, GeForce 670M 3GB graphics card, Networks 'Killer' N-1103 WLAN card

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Harleysville, Pa. USA
    Posts
    587
    dneilson: Thanks, I try it.
    Bistro: It came with windows 7 home premium 64 bit.

    Now to learn windows 7.

    Thank you very much, Chuck
    Desktop: Dell I620. Win 7 Home Premium
    Laptop 1: Toshiba, Win7 home premium
    Laptop 2: Gateway 3550GZ, Mint 10/CrunchBang 10

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,411
    Just as an FYI, the memory testetrs on UBCD will work fine, but there is one built into Win7. Boot up with the Win7 DVD in the drive, and then go to "Repair an existing installation", and in the Repair Menu, you will find a memory tester.

    If you don't have a Win7 disc, go to Control Panel>Backup & Restore, and choose "Create a System Repair disc" from the left-hand pane. That will give you the same repair options as a full Win7 disc, and can be useful for getting yourself out of trouble in the future.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Harleysville, Pa. USA
    Posts
    587
    SuperSparks:
    Thanks for the tip. I ran the memory test all night with no errors.

    Thank you very much, Chuck
    Desktop: Dell I620. Win 7 Home Premium
    Laptop 1: Toshiba, Win7 home premium
    Laptop 2: Gateway 3550GZ, Mint 10/CrunchBang 10

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Friern Barnet, London, England
    Posts
    46,411
    As it's a Dell, I'd advise you to get rid of the junkware with this:

    PC Decrapifier

    Once you've done that and got it how you like it, go to Control Panel>Backup & Restore, and create a System Image. That way, if things go horribly wrong at any time, you will easily be able to get back to a working state again.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •