[RESOLVED] TP T-43 MEMORY
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [RESOLVED] TP T-43 MEMORY

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,331

    Resolved [RESOLVED] TP T-43 MEMORY

    I have an IBM TP T-43. running Win XP Home. I checked the ram
    and found the following 486 MHz .99 GB of ram.
    I suppose I have 1 gb of ram. The computer is running good but I
    thought of putting in another 1 gb of ram. I opened the access plate
    on the bottom and thought I would find 2 slots for ram with one empty.
    What I found was one sim card laying flat across the panel access and
    did not find another slot. Are there 2 slots. How do you remove the top
    sim if the other slot is underneath. Would another 1 gb of ram make
    the computer run better. Is 2 gb the maximum ram I could put it?

    Jerry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,808
    There are two RAM slots. One is under a cover on the bottom of the laptop, the other is under the keyboard. Here's a video:
    Computer IBM T41-T43 installing ram Memory and keyboard disassembly
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLfFjg8PPj4
    It looks like most T43's, (there are several different models), max out at 2GB of RAM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Dallas, Tx.
    Posts
    20,729
    Odds are that another gig of ram won't make much difference unless you're doing some intense work - aka have many apps open at the same time..
    "Imagine a world where dogs took bad owners to the pound."

    http://www.hopeforpaws.org/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,331
    Great Videos. I am going to install 1 more 1gb of ram because I have a lot
    of software installed.

    Thank You, Jerry

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,331
    I bought a 1 gb Ram. I thought the Ram slot under the keyboard was empty
    but was surprised to find a .5 memory ram in it. Also I could not remove it
    because some cable was covering the right lever. I installed the 1 gb ram in
    the slot under the cover on bottom of computer after I removed the ram that was there and get a reading of 1.49 GB ram. Will different sizes of ram in the two slots hurt anything and which slot is Slot 1. Should the 1 gb ram go into slot 1? or does it matter?.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16,808
    Doesn't appear to matter. Up to 1GB per slot looks like the only restriction.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,331
    Can you tell me on my TP T-43 where slot 1 is and where slot 2 is for memory.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,036
    This should do it.
    Using this guide you’ll be able to replace or upgrade memory modules (aka RAM) in IBM ThinkPad T40, T40p, T41, T41p, T42, T42p series laptops. In my case I’ll be working with a ThinkPad T41.
    http://www.insidemylaptop.com/replac...1-t42-laptops/
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,331
    Thanks this is a very good site. I have a T-43 but I suppose the procedure
    is the same.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Elma,Wa.
    Posts
    50,036
    Should be close.
    SMILE
    and post back. Let us know if it worked.
    [ Book mark this post to find it again]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •